Supercharge your morning coffee while staying paleo/primal

Are you a big coffee drinker?  Are you dreading the fact that you can’t use sugar and cream for your upcoming (or current) paleo challenge?  I have the solution for you, and it’s bulletproof.

A few weeks ago, I did a Google search for a paleo-friendly way to drink coffee without adding sugar or cream (I know I could drink it black, but I don’t like the taste).

The method that stood out called for adding grass-fed butter and coconut oil.  Like most people, I thought it sounded disgusting.  I was intrigued however, so I clicked on one of the links and it led me to the Bullet Proof Executive page created by David Asprey.  He’s a tech investor and entrepreneur (with a huge following) who is big into life/biohacking.  He does try to sell you his coffee and other products, but he lists the recipe for “bulletproof coffee” free on his site.

I’m skeptical of most things, so I did further research about “bulletproof coffee” and it seemed pretty legit, even in the larger paleo community.  Mark Sisson is also a huge fan of both grass-fed butter and coconut oil so I decided to try it out myself.

The next day, I purchased the virgin coconut oil and the Kerrygold unsalted grass-fed butter from Trader Joes, grabbed my blender, and made my own version of bulletproof coffee.  How did it taste?  Fantastic!  How did it make me feel throughout the day?  Amazing!  I’ve done paleo/south beach style diets before, but I’ve never had energy like this.  I’m wide awake at work, I no longer get the mid-afternoon crash, and I have energy until I go to bed.  It’s incredible.

With all of that said, it’s important to remember that I’m going about 95% paleo, so I don’t know if you’d get the same benefits while eating a normal diet.  I usually eat three eggs in the morning, and have my bulletproof coffee about an hour later at work.  For a mid-morning snack I have a few berries or nuts, and I’m usually satiated until lunch.
So what do you need to make your own version of bulletproof coffee?

coffee_001

-A stick of Kerrygold (or the brand of your choice) unsalted grass-fed butter
-Raw virgin coconut oil
-Coffee
-A blender of some sort.  You can get away with a battery operated milk frother.

Steps

1.  Throw a spoonful of coconut oil and a pat of butter into your mug (you can use Dave’s amounts on his site for the measurement reference, but I don’t use an exact amount).

2.  Brew your coffee (I use a pour over)

coffee_002

3.  Pour your coffee into the mug

4.  Blend

coffee_003
5.  Savor

coffee_004

This is also great if you’re losing too much weight while doing the paleo diet, and need some extra fats.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Supercharge your morning coffee while staying paleo/primal

  1. Bob Ewing says:

    Excellent write up on this. It’s always nice to find more ways to add fat to the diet. Have you chatted with many other folks that do this? I’m not a coffee drinker, but you’ve convinced me to give it a shot. Thanks!

  2. Aarin Kaur says:

    This article is out of the roof. Wow! Wonderful. Great Post!
    https://www.aarinkaur.com/

Leave a comment