It’s Officially Been One Month!

For those of you that started on July 1, you’ve officially been primal for a month!

Think for a moment about the progress you’ve made.   How did you feel when you first started?   How do you feel now?   Are you going to keep going?   Set new goals?

My favorite email today came from someone that may want to stay anonymous, for now at least.   I won’t share anything about the person except a few highlights from the email this morning:

[O]n Aug 1st 2011,  I am beginning to feel like there’s a chance that I could actually go rafting or sky diving again if I can keep going. So as of this morning, I lost 13 lbs in July and about 20 in roughly 6 weeks of this crazy caveman dieting….

Challenge over, but I’m thinking I’m having too much fun to stop now.  So, I am challenging myself to another month of this. (At least) After all, My fridge and my food cabinet have all been “paleotized.”  Enough rambling- My dog is waiting for the morning walk.

Thanks for the challenge and all of the support!

I think that says it all.   Super inspiring.  Keep it up!!

(Don’t forget to take another round of measurements and photos.  The first of the month is an ideal time to take new measurements and pictures.) 

About Bob Ewing

On twitter @DCBarefootRun. Media guy for libertarian law firm by day, primal/paleo (rocking climbing, BJJ, barefooter) by, well, lunchtime... https://theprimalchallenge.wordpress.com/ http://DCBarefootRun.com
This entry was posted in Exercise, Food, Measurements, Progress! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Officially Been One Month!

  1. My 30th day is still coming up (Friday), but I feel like I have made this change for good. I have never felt better. I have tons of energy and I actually enjoy eating primal. Meat has always been my favorite part of the meal anyway. The only difference now is that I have no pasta and no rice, only veggies and salad.

    I’m enjoying this a lot, and it shows. My girlfriend is almost convinced to go primal as well. She is trying very hard to follow a diet, but still eats tons of carbs. She kind of feels like she has reached a plateau. Mark Sisson talks about carbs in his book, the Primal Blueprint. The average american eats 300+ grams of carbs in a day. That will definitely get you fat.

    Mark says that if you are trying to lose weight you should try to eat less than 100g of carbs. To maintain, between 100 and 150. The average person in a non-primal diet will eat more than 150, easily. A healthy breakfast that consists of a bowl of cereal, a slice of whole-grain bread and a tall glass of OJ, for example, add up to 94g! Eat a couple of cereal bars, and BAM! you are eating more than 150g of carbs in a day.

    I have deviated from my original point in this post, which was to say:

    Thanks, Bob, for setting this up and giving me the motivation to do this.

    • Bob Ewing says:

      Excellent update Fernando! You’re inspiring to watch, and I bet you’re inspiring your girlfriend to become more healthy too. Keep the updates coming! And keep up the awesome work.

Leave a comment