30-Day Re-Introduction Challenge

30-day-challengeHello! It has been a while, modern-day cavefriends!

The last 4 months have taken a toll on me. I haven’t stayed primal and I can tell. My indigestion is back, I don’t have as much energy as I did when I was primal, I feel sluggish midday, I’m spending more time in front of the computer and less time getting exercise, and I’ve put some pounds back on around the midsection. Not good. Thankfully, I’ve at least maintained consistent use of my standing desk and haven’t reintroduced soda or fruit juice into my diet.

So, here is the deal. My wedding is in 6 months. I need to look good and feel good. I need to be on top of my game both at work and outside of work. My current state has to change. If I don’t change my habits, I will have no new outcomes.

Two friends from back home and I got spontaneously together on Twitter and decided to do the 30-day challenge again to start anew. Jacob Shalkhauser, Erica Gigliotti, and I have committed to the below and will post here on The Primal Challenge at least once a week during the next month.

In order to make a seamless transition back into being primal, here is our plan:

Week 1:
No bread.
No glowing screens for at least 30 minutes before bed.
Minimum 7-8 hours of sleep.
50% less refined sugar than normal.

Week 2:
No bread.
No glowing screens for at least 30 minutes before bed.
Minimum 7-8 hours of sleep.
No refined sugar.
No alcohol (with the exception of an occasional red wine.)

Week 3:
No grains of any kind.
No glowing screens for at least 30 minutes before bed.
Minimum 7-8 hours of sleep.
No refined sugar.
No alcohol (with the exception of an occasional red wine.)
Daily outdoor activity.
Cut back 50% on caffeine.
Watch at least one sunrise.

Week 4:
No grains of any kind.
No glowing screens for at least 30 minutes before bed.
Minimum 7-8 hours of sleep.
No refined sugar.
No alcohol (with the exception of an occasional red wine.)
Daily outdoor activity.
Cut back 75% on caffeine.
Watch at least one sunrise.
No dairy.

We start January 7. Once the month is over, our cravings should be gone and we should be able to maintain our primal lifestyle.

Are you going to join us? Dig through our archives for tips, recipes, and support!

About Chuck Grimmett

Web consultant, photographer, and problem solver. I also cook a lot and am learning to make data visualizations.
This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 30-Day Re-Introduction Challenge

  1. paleojoe says:

    I’m been strict since the beginning of 2013. I reintroduced lots of dairy and soybean oils (dressings and mayo) which led to increased belly fat and shame. Let’s start of the new year right. Good luck everyone!

  2. Pingback: Cravings and Coping | The Primal Challenge

  3. Pingback: Preparation | The Primal Challenge

  4. Pingback: 30-Day Re-Introduction Challenge: Halfway There | The Primal Challenge

  5. Reblogged this on A Primal Family and commented:
    The Primal Challenge began this on Jan 7th….you can begin now! Its February 1st….join me to get back to the Primal Way!

Leave a Reply

