Primal Apple Crumble

My parents, who started the primal challenge 5 days ago, emailed me this recipe to post for a primal version of apple crumble that they came up with tonight, complete with honey from their own bee hives. Thanks, Mom and Dad! Keep up the good work!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Primal Apple Crumble
1 large apple
1 tbsp of honey
1/4 cup of pecans
1/4  cup of almonds
1 tbsp cinnamon
1/2 stick of butter

  1. Peel, core and chop the apple, lightly dust with some of the cinnamon
  2. Melt butter in a small bowl
  3. Finely chop your pecans and almonds, combine with the melted butter
  4. and the rest of the cinnamon and honey.
  5. Place the apples in two ramekins and smear the nut topping on top of the apples.
  6. Bake at 350 Deg F for 20 minutes.

Enjoy!

About Chuck Grimmett

I’m Chuck Grimmett. I'm a woodworker, paddler, blogger, and avid reader.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Primal Apple Crumble

  1. Bob Ewing says:

    Woah, that looks good! I’m going to have to give it a try. Thanks!

  2. chebridget says:

    Yum. I’ll be making that for sure!

  3. liseygurl says:

    Yummo Im making this tonight cept im replacing almonds with raw macadamias! thankyou for posting!

  4. stafford says:

    I am just now learning about this lifestyle not soon enough. I am 59 overweight and have rhurmatoid arthritis…..both k des replaced other joints in jeporardy…RA is in my family…..on method and Enbrel but do not want these toxic meed inky system looking for natural ways to combat this disease that crippled my uncle and great Aunt and took their livesbefore age 60. Has anyone outthere had success against RA using this lifestyle? At the very least loosing weight will help….by the way I was active and not overweight until after knee replacements.

    • Chuck Grimmett says:

      Stafford, thanks for commenting! Best of luck with your RA. There are many stories online about people battling it successfully with paleo. Here is just one of them: http://robbwolf.com/2012/05/07/medically-confirmed-rheumatoid-arthritis-remission/

      • stafford says:

        I am on the very same meds as this author in your link…thank you so much….I started ed the Primal lifestyle (I will not say diet – because diets dont work – lifestyle changes do) on last Friday and ALREADY feel better….could be in my head but my husband noticed I was moving much better yesterday…..and I do not feel deprived…I had a small 100 calorie pack of almonds for breakfast and a boiled egg. One cup of coffee at work – no sugar – little cream and then a ice berg lettuce salad at lunch with boiled eggs and jalapenos and 2 tablespoons of lite dressing – low carbs & 2 grams of sugar……and 2 slices of cantelope….I know it has only been 4 days but I am excited and my long term goal is to get off the toxic meds!!! THANKS for your response!!

Leave a comment