Welcome Two New People to the 30 Day Challenge!

I hope you are having a wonderful weekend, Primal Challengers!

I have some great news. My parents, Chuck and Linda Grimmett, are officially taking the 30 Day Challenge for the month of October! (Yes, we both go by Chuck. This is confusing sometimes, but I really like being named after my father, grandfather, and great-grandfather.)

When my parents decide to do something, they jump in with both feet. They’ve already purchased the Primal Blueprint, an almond flour cookbook, planned out some primal breakfasts, and picked out some primal recipes they want to try. I am going home for a few days two weeks from now, so I am excited to cook some primal feasts and have some fun outdoors with them.

Here is a photo I took of my parents a few years ago in Vermilion, Ohio when we went our for an afternoon walk:

I asked my parents to write a little bit about themselves and their goals to post on here. This is what my Dad wrote:

Hello! My name is Chuck. I first heard of living primally from my son, Chuck. He is an adventurous college senior who loves to experience different cultures and foods. Listening to him and seeing first hand the changes in his eating habits and weight loss has inspired me to take the Primal 30 Day Challenge.

This challenge is very real to me, and a true challenge.

I am a 52 year old dad who loves to eat!  Growing up it was meat, potatoes, a vegetable, salad, bread and dessert every day. I have continued this eating habit throughout my life. My current food passion is bread and pizza. My current breakfast consists of bagels, english muffins w/ jelly or cream filled doughnuts!

I currently take six heart meds and have 4 stents in my heart. My goal for this challenge is to learn what and how to eat, lose some belly fat, lose inches from my barrel chest and start a path to get off some of my heart meds.

Joining me on this challenge is my lovely bride of 27 years, my wife Linda. Linda is a food conscious petite size eight who tries her best to keep me healthy. Linda loves chocolate and pasta! To both of our benefits on this quest, Linda is a fantastic cook, and we both love to try new and interesting foods. Linda has a knack for creating her own dishes and recipes.

Linda’s goal for this challenge is to lose some belly fat and firm up her arms and thighs.

We are planning a daily walk and/or bike rides depending on our busy schedules.

We both look forward to this challenge and we appreciate all the input and posts on this blog, and most of all we appreciate or son Chuck, for caring enough to inspire us to change the way we eat and live our lives.

Maybe you can take some photos and post some of the dishes you create. We’d love to see them! Also, update us at the end of the 30 days with your results!

Good luck, Mom and Dad! All of us here at The Primal Challenge welcome you and are supporting you!

About Chuck Grimmett

Web consultant, photographer, and problem solver. I also cook a lot and am learning to make data visualizations.
This entry was posted in New Primal Challenger!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Welcome Two New People to the 30 Day Challenge!

  1. Michelle says:

    Love it!

  2. Scott Ewing says:

    Best of Luck Chuck and Linda! Feel free to hit us up with questions, and definitely subscribe to the blog to keep the motivation coming. Keep us posted, I’d love to hear your thoughts on how the 30 day challenge goes.

  3. Chuck Grimmett says:

    Thank you Scott!
    Day 5 today, still trying to get adjusted. We came up with some interesting dishes so far. We still haven’t gone out to dinner yet. Tough choices… We love Mexican food and Italian. Without beans, rice or pasta the choices get set skinny.
    Thanks for all your support!
    Chuck Grimmett

  4. Bob Ewing says:

    Welcome to the Primal Challenge Chuck and Linda! We’re excited to have you on board, and look forward to your progress. When you get a sec, check out the progress my Uncle Curt has made already: https://theprimalchallenge.wordpress.com/2011/09/21/this-is-life-changing/

    Antonie and I had the pleasure to meet your son at a FEE conference in New York this summer. You guys should be proud, Chuck has been an inspiration for us here, and we have it on good authority that he’s very well liked in the FEE community as well. We’re are all big fans! And he just so happens to be fantastic at cooking, taking pictures & posting recipes, which sure is a nice bonus. 😉

    I’m eager to hear some updates from you both!

    Cheers,
    Bob

    • Chuck Grimmett says:

      Thank You Bob!
      We are very proud of Chuck and his accomplishments. We visited FEE this summer in NY, that’s where we first learned about The Primal way of eating. He talked to us at length about what he has been eating and thinking of living primal. I must admit, most of what he said I thought was nonsense. But I am in it with both feet! Day # 9 and i can feel a change in my energy and attitude.
      Thanks for the kind words and we hope to get to meet you and your wife someday!

      Have a good week!
      Chuck

      • Bob Ewing says:

        Excellent! I really look forward to hearing updates about your experiences and thoughts about the primal challenge. And agreed, Antonie and I hope to meet you both someday!

        Cheers,
        Bob

  5. Pingback: Primal Apple Crumble | The Primal Challenge

Leave a Reply

