Preparation

Next week starts week 2 of the 30-Day Re-Introduction Challenge. This week, in addition to everything we did last week, we will cut out refined sugar entirely and put away our bottles of cognac.

Depending on how long you’ve been off of primal, the end of this first week may have been rough. You might still be suffering from cravings. If so, preparation will be key to staying on track next week. Even if you aren’t craving bagels every 20 minutes, preparing ahead of time can make staying 100% primal throughout the week much easier. I don’t know about you, but when I am stressed I don’t want to worry about making lunch. It is much easier to take a 5 minute walk to my favorite sandwich place. Luckily I have a plan.

I did my shopping on Saturday and spent part of the afternoon Sunday prepping for next week’s meals:

  • I made Ham and Egg cups for my breakfasts. I also bought coconut kefir to start my day off on the right digestive foot.
  • I made primal BLTs with avocado and homemade paleo roasted red pepper mayo for two lunches (recipe forthcoming).
  • I have quality ham and lettuce wraps ready for two more lunches. (Will probably spread some of that delicious mayo on before I eat them.)
  • I thawed frozen homemade soup for one lunch.
  • Monday I am making London Broil and broccoli for dinner.
  • Tuesday I am meeting a fellow foodie friend (fff) in the city for dinner. I will select something primal off of the menu.
  • Wednesday I am having another friend over for dinner. I’m stuffing a pork tenderloin with chopped apples and making a pecan cashew butter glaze for it. Sides: Asparagus wrapped in prosciutto and spinach creamed with coconut milk. Dessert: Banana pudding made with coconut milk and no added sugar.
  • Thursday I am going to an Indian restaurant with yet another friend. (Good week for socializing!) He isn’t primal, but he prefers low carb meals, so we won’t have naan or rice with the meal.
  • Friday I am having leftovers from Wednesday.
  • Saturday and Sunday I will eat whatever I have left. I am going out of town the 22nd-23rd, so I don’t want to have a bunch of food in the fridge.
  • I have homemade pecan-cashew butter, celery sticks, and cherries for snacks.

All of this took me about 4 hours total to plan, purchase, and prepare ahead of time (breakfast, lunches, and snacks) over the course of the weekend. Speaking from past experience, I am certain it will save me from decision-making headaches and impulse burgers.

Sometimes I even chop all of the veggies I am going to use for my dinners ahead of time, but that was unnecessary this week. Some weeks it is an absolute necessity and a huge time saver. Just like bulk-managing your email, bulk food prep will save you time and toil.

Do you have a plan in place for the week? Let me know in the comments!

About Chuck Grimmett

Web consultant, photographer, and problem solver. I also cook a lot and am learning to make data visualizations.
This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge, Cooking, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

