Cravings and Coping

Today is day 4 of the 30-Day Re-Introduction Challenge.

The cravings hit me this morning. I was fine Monday-Wednesday, but not today. I want to eat every piece of bread and candy I can find.

But I won’t. I’m being careful to cope with these cravings so I don’t fall off-track.

The first thing I do when a craving hits me especially hard is drink 1/2 glass of water. If after 10 minutes I’m still feeling it, then I have go-to snacks I planned out earlier in the week: Fresh cherries, roasted almonds, or if I am really hungry, a banana. The water is a good first response because it placates me and keeps me hydrated while helping my body flush out the gunk.

Of course, the cravings aren’t at zero and likely won’t be for another week and a half, but I am keeping the gluten dogs at bay by sticking to my plan.

Do you have a plan to deal with cravings so you don’t fall off? Let me know in the comments.

About Chuck Grimmett

Web consultant, photographer, and problem solver. I also cook a lot and am learning to make data visualizations.
This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge, Food, Progress!, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cravings and Coping

  1. paleojoe says:

    Water is great for dealing with cravings. I also like to have a tablespoon of coconut oil to battle hunger.

  2. chebridget says:

    Water is the best! I’ve been bringing celery sticks to work with about 1/8th cup of organic raisins and some raw almond or cashew butter – my childhood favorite, ants on a log without too much sugar or industrial oil. I’m eating clementines because I crave fruit and they are small. I sometimes don’t get enough protein so I got Turkey, Beef and Salmon Jerky at Trader Joe’s – no MSG but I’m disappointed about how much sugar it has and skeptical about the meat sources.

    • Chuck Grimmett says:

      Great idea on the celery and nut butter! I have pecans and cashews… I will grind them into butter tomorrow to eat with celery. Thanks!

  3. stephy0905 says:

    coconut water with fresh cut strawberries is always my go to! i feel like I am eating a dessert and it is GREAT for hydration.

  4. Pingback: Preparation | The Primal Challenge

Leave a Reply

