Quick Breakfast: Ham and Egg Cups

I keep going back and forth about eating breakfast. For the past 6 months, I would skip breakfast at least 6 out of 7 days and keep my meals in a 7-8 hour window, fasting for 16-17 hours until lunch the next day. For the past two weeks, though, I have been going in to work an hour and a half earlier than usual. By the time lunch rolls around, I am running on empty and I feel like I could use quite a bit more energy. So, I started eating a small breakfast again, and I still feel pretty good when it is time for lunch.

This is a great recipe if you do not have much time in the morning. Bake a batch the night before (it only takes a half hour from start to finish), store them in the fridge, and heat up one or two in the morning.

I used to make mini omelets in paper muffin cups, but the paper sticks to the eggs so much that I stopped making them. Peeling the paper off of the mini omelet muffins was not worth the effort.

In my opinion, this is a much superior version of the mini omelets. It takes less prep time, there is no mess, there is more meat, and best of all, there no annoying paper to peel off of the outside.

Ham and Egg Cups
Ingredients:
Thinly sliced ham
Eggs
Any desired spices

Preheat your oven to 375F.
Get a muffin tin, take your favorite thinly sliced ham and line as many cups as you want to make with 2 slices each. Crack an egg into each of these cups. Sprinkle your desired spices on top. Bake for 20 minutes at 375F.

Your ham and egg cups should look something like this before you put them into the oven:

20120614-202606.jpg

Finished product:

20120614-202754.jpg

About Chuck Grimmett

Web consultant, photographer, and problem solver. I also cook a lot and am learning to make data visualizations.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick Breakfast: Ham and Egg Cups

  1. ecirpttocs says:

    Chuck, that is a great looking recipe, I look forward to trying it out!

    I am totally with you on the skipping morning breakfast – I’ve been trying it on and off for a few weeks now, and it is shocking how easy it is to wait until 11am to eat the first meal – this coming from a guy who HAD to have breakfast. It has been a great experiment.

    However, work sometimes gets in the way – and I love your solution!
    -Scott

  2. Pingback: Preparation | The Primal Challenge

  3. Right here is the right blog for anybody who really wants to understand
    this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa).
    You definitely put a new spin on a subject that’s been discussed for years.
    Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

Leave a Reply

