I’m still Here

Similar to Chuck, I’ve been battling cravings and temptations but trying to stay in the real food realm. I did 7 days 100% grain, sugar (added), caffeine and alcohol free in May, and have been keeping a journal of my eating and exercise habits ever since, in an attempt to keep myself above 80/20 – and completely honest about it. I’m sleeping better, and feeling better (not to mention the scale’s looking better) already. Here’s a sample of what I’ve been eating.

Lazy: Philly Cheesesteak

I marinated a decent sized grass fed Ohio raised london broil for 2 days, then broiled it up for dinner #1. On day 2 I sliced the remainder and sauteed with local butter, organic mushrooms and onions. I ate it Philly-style with local raw milk cheese on organic green leaf lettuce wraps (with hot sauce of course).

Image

Inspired: Bacon wrapped Wild Alaskan Cod filet served with pureed beets and wilted spinach. 

Wrap the cod in good bacon (uncured, no sugar added), and fry in a pan until the bacon is crispy (Cod is fishy so you may want to soak in milk or lemon before wrapping, or use a less fishy sustainable fish). Meanwhile, peel beets and puree in a food processor (or blender with a few tablespoons of water – then strain). Wash spinach and place on the sides of the pan while the fish finishes, to wilt down spinach with the bacon grease. 

Image

About chebridget

I love food! I love to cook, try new restaurants, read books about food, talk about food and throw dinner parties. I also enjoy jogging, hiking, camping and traveling. I work 9-5 in a cubicle, so it's important to me that I spend the rest of the day doing what I love, which is cooking, spending time outdoors with friends, and doing musical theatre in my community. Going primal is going to be a challenge for me due to my love of all things dessert, but I'm excited to see what new recipes I can come up with.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m still Here

  1. Bob Ewing says:

    Bridget, your meals blow my mind. My meals are so weak compared to yours! I love how aesthetically pleasing you make your food. You should be a chef. And cheers on keeping yourself totally honest and getting back on track. Awesome. As for me, I haven’t been very good on sleep lately.

  2. Pingback: 7 Day Challenge – Log Your Food | The Primal Challenge

Leave a Reply

