Coffee Free Challenge Update

coffee-poison.jpg

It’s been over a month since I posted the 30-Day Coffee-free Challenge, so it’s time for an update. Long story short, I failed miserably at my original goal of eliminating regular coffee altogether. I did not realize the extent of my addiction until actually posing this challenge and attempting to eliminate this potent drug from my diet. I finally realized this was all the more reason to rid caffeine from the daily routine, so I quit cold turkey over the weekend. I was shocked by the level of pain and discomfort endured during this period of withdrawal, exhibiting a majority of the symptoms found here. Needless to say, my weekend was shot, but I now feel like a changed man. The anxiety, mood swings, rapid changes in energy levels, and irritability have vanished.

Much like the Standard American Diet, a morning cup of coffee has become a widely accepted routine. Despite the supposed benefits of caffeine, many dangers do exist and are very real. Others may have no problem at all drinking a cup or two or three a day; it’s all a matter of listening to your body. As for me, I vow to never drink a cup again.

How is everyone else doing on the Challenge? Post your progress in the comments! As for those who are reluctant to eliminate or reduce caffeine, it’s never too late to give the 30 days a try!

This entry was posted in 30 Day Challenge, Progress!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coffee Free Challenge Update

  1. chebridget says:

    I did 30 days without coffee last month and didn’t notice a difference. I did notice an increase in sweet cravings, but I can’t say it has to be related to the caffeine – it could be hormones or a multitude of other things. I have noticed withdrawal symptoms similar to yours in the past, and ever since then have taken periodic breaks from it to avoid a dependence, and tried to limit consumption to mornings or evenings but not both.

  2. Bob Ewing says:

    I’ve never liked coffee so it hasn’t become a part of my diet. I heard about people putting butter in their coffee though, and that sounds intriguing. Have you guys ever tried that?

  3. Bob Ewing says:

    Oh, and as to how we’re doing, Antonie and I are getting married on August 11. We are going ketogenic until then. We started when we moved into our house a month ago. Except we went to a wedding in San Fran and decided to go on a carb binge. It was awesome for awhile, but I went totally crazy. She has more self control on that stuff than I do. We’re back on primal though, aiming to keep ourselves in ketosis.

Leave a Reply

