Primal saved my life

Not really… I just wanted a title that would pull you in.

For the past three months I’ve been about 99% Primal and now adhere to it at 100%.  It didn’t take long at all to notice benefits.  Now that more time has gone by I thought it would be good to write briefly on the positives I’ve noticed.

As for negatives, there really aren’t any.  Is it more inconvenient to eat this way and workout etc.? Sure. But I don’t really see that as a negative largely because it’s my own laziness that says it’s inconvenient and I know that in the long run I am doing my body a ton of good in the present.

Ok, so the positives. Note, these things are new to my life since starting primal. I would not be able to describe myself this way on my previous Standard American Diet, and constant chronic cardio.


-I have lots of daily energy.
  I generally wake up with the “on switch” fully on.  And I have this energy throughout the day, though it declines til at nightfall I’m pretty well “off”.  I used to get the post-lunch drowsiness. No more.  And no more is getting up in the morning a chore.

-While I never had frequent or debilitating headaches, I would get them on occasion all the same. The Headaches are now gone.  I suppose the last time I had a headache was sometime last summer maybe.

-I am finally building muscle. 6 lbs since the beginning of the year.  Can’t be anything other than eating real food and lifting heavy things.

-Running long distances is easier and far more enjoyable than others. I think this also has a lot to do with form, but it also has a lot to do with the fuel (fat) my body is now using for energy instead of sugar and carbs.  I’m pretty much at liberty to go out and run 10 miles barefoot whenever I feel like it and feel great during and after the run.  That is totally new for me.

Those are the visible benefits. I know the benefits yet to be seen are avoiding astronomical health costs and inconvenience later in life by avoiding a hosts of degenerative diseases (unless I’m wired genetically).  If I keep eating and living healthy I plan to live perhaps a hundred years more.

Maybe just reading those benefits doesn’t seem all that great.  I can say this much though, They mean enough to me that I don’t even consider switching things up.  Definitely keeping the hard workouts and eating real food.

About Staffaction

If I ever write a memoirs it will be called "From Podunk to Poland to Pakistan"...so says a good friend of mine anyway. I'm from a small town in Michigan and enjoy world travel. I'm a Christian, advocate for liberty, enjoy real food, and barefoot runs. I studied economics and now work full time for a missions organization as a link between US churches and overseas schools and churches, serving indigenous pastors by discipling and teaching them so they can teach others.
This entry was posted in Ailment Relief, Exercise, Food, Progress!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

