$3 Dinner Contest – Pulled Pork w/Guacamole

When it comes to maximizing Primal calories per dollar here in Chicago, you can’t beat shopping at your local hispanic market.  They focus almost exclusively on meat and produce, and their prices are a fraction of the cost of the large supermarket chains.  I knew my local Cermak Fresh Market was the place to go for Chuck’s $3 meal challenge!

I decided to whip up some pulled pork.  Pulled pork is made from Pork Butt, but don’t be fooled by its name.  It’s actually cut from the shoulder of the hog, not the hindquarters, and you can usually find a 4-5lb cut for a very reasonable price.

I ended up making a variation on this recipe.  Here’s what I picked up at the market:

The classic pulled pork on the barbecue circuit is cooked all day over a low smoky heat .  As a substitute in a home kitchen, you can toss a pork butt in a slow cooker for 8-10hrs.  I decided to save some time by using my pressure cooker, which only takes 60 minutes.

So I chopped the pork shoulder into quarters and browned them in the pressure cooker  while chopping up the poblano pepper, onions, garlic, tomato and apple:

Then I deglazed the pressure cooker with some beef broth, and tossed in the onions & garlic to brown them a bit.  Then I dumped the tomato, apple, chipolte peppers in adobo sauce, and a dash of homemade chili powder into to the pressure cooker, closed the lid, and set the timer for 60 minutes.

After the timer went off, I pulled the meat out and started pulling it apart with a fork:

The pork shoulder was super tender, and came apart really easily.

I like my guacamole really basic, so I just combined 2 avocados, one serrano pepper, and two small cloves of garlic.

Dinner is served!

All the veggies cooked down into a rich broth that I poured over the pulled pork (not pictured) instead of using barbecue sauce.  The pork tasted fantastic, and the 5lbs will last for several meals.

The best part?  After tallying up my receipt, my meal ended up just under the $3 mark!

About Scott Ewing

Primal Blueprint enthusiast living in Chicago. Twitter: @scewing
This entry was posted in Contest, Cooking, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to $3 Dinner Contest – Pulled Pork w/Guacamole

  1. Joe says:

    Nice! I’m going to give this a try. Looks quite delicious.

    • Scott Ewing says:

      Glad to hear it. My only suggestion: Go easy on the Chipoltes in adobo sauce – they really do add a great smoky flavor, but wow are they spicy!

  2. Pingback: Voting: $3 Primal Dinner Contest | The Primal Challenge

  3. Hello. Very awesome website!! Guy .. Excellent .. Superb .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally…I’m happy to find numerous helpful information here within the post. Thank you for sharing..

Leave a Reply

