My Weekend Challenge Result: Cajun Salmon and Broccoli Rabe

Primal Challengers,

In last weekend’s challenge, I told everyone to go out and cook something new. How did you do with it?

On Saturday, I went to this amazing grocery store called Stew Leonard’s and got a lot of really good, clean, primal-approved food. While walking around the store, I was on the lookout for meats and vegetables I’ve never cooked before. I came up with a fresh salmon filet and a bunch of broccoli rabe.

So, here is what I did with it:

I rubbed the salmon with yellow mustard and cajun spices, then baked it in the oven. I got the idea of putting mustard on the salmon from my Dad, who told me it will cut the fishy taste and you won’t even get a hint of mustard while eating it. He is right! It was delicious.

With the broccoli rabe, I boiled it in salt water for about 8 minutes, then drained and sauteed it with lots of garlic and a bit of crushed red pepper.  It had a spicy, pungent flavor by itself, so the garlic and red pepper complemented it well. It was a very good side dish for salmon.

What did new food did you cook this weekend? Also, do you cook either of these things differently? If so, how?

 

 

About Chuck Grimmett

Web consultant, photographer, and problem solver. I also cook a lot and am learning to make data visualizations.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

