Primal Today

This post tops off my series on how I came to have an interest in and enjoy Primal living. You can find the previous posts here:

Introductions

Why Primal?

Realizing I’m eating good tasting food that is bad for me.

The 30 day experiment

Introduction to Primal

So where am I at today?

Thanks to fellow Primal Challenge author, Chuck Grimmett, I started taking it seriously when in August we decided to hold each other accountable at the 80/20 rule. Moral of the story – Accountability helps a ton. I began purging my place of all foods that weren’t paleo. And constructing shopping list based around the Primal blueprint guidelines. I started sticking to the rest of the primal blueprint as best I could as well, particularly:

-doing sprints once a week

-getting enough sleep

-going for a walk in the sun daily.

Ultimately, I need to ask myself, “How do I look, feel and perform?”

Well, I’m not big to begin with so I don’t have much fat too lose. I look fine… But how do I feel and perform? Absolutely amazing compared to my previous diet and habits. My “get up and go” ability is at a level it’s never been before: I was able to train for a half marathon barefoot 6 days in advance. Never ever would have been able to do that before. 1 year ago, running 3 miles would be a struggle. I haven’t gone for a long run a week and a half, and I know if I were to get up and go right now I could easily do 7. I also feel great. The “afternoon slump”/post-lunch yawning is now a thing of the past. I wake up alert and ready to go. Headaches are also a thing of the past. They were never a huge issue before, but ya notice when you go months without having one. Much much more to say and learn and that will all be in forthcoming posts.

What are the benefits you all have seen of going primal?

Next week I will discuss the pros and cons of buying locally.

About Staffaction

If I ever write a memoirs it will be called "From Podunk to Poland to Pakistan"...so says a good friend of mine anyway. I'm from a small town in Michigan and enjoy world travel. I'm a Christian, advocate for liberty, enjoy real food, and barefoot runs. I studied economics and now work full time for a missions organization as a link between US churches and overseas schools and churches, serving indigenous pastors by discipling and teaching them so they can teach others.
This entry was posted in Progress!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

