Introduced to Primal

So a couple years ago I had warmed to the idea that most of what I was ingesting was likely not good for me, shaped up my diet a bit. Then I even ran my own self-experiment to see if one can eat healthy and cheaply at the same time. Yep. Ok, check that.  For some reason, for the past year I believed this mantra that I needed a bunch of carbs (I’m also a runner), hence I would eat lots of breads and pastas.  Everything started to shift again last June, which is when I met Bob Ewing and Antonie Hodge.

Bob Ewing spoke at a seminar in Atlanta, GA for the Foundation for Economic Education. When I introduced him to the audience, I remember there being something in there that piqued my interest so I went over to Antonie Hodge, his girlfriend later to ask what it meant.  It may have been something like “he enjoys living a primal lifestyle” or “running barefoot”.  Anyway, point is, I saw it asked her about it and the rest is history.

Antonie introduced me to Robb Wolf’s site, Marks Daily Apple and a slew of others.  She’s pretty smart and so was able to explain quite about off the top of her head.  Ever since then I’ve been doing my own scouring, reading, listening to the Paleo-Solution podcast and have since gone “completely primal”, incorporating things like a full night’s sleep, play, sunshine, barefoot running and walking etc. into my life.  Never woulda thought I’d be blogging for one of the biggest primal blogs…but here I am. I am simply a learner trying new things and seeing what works.

Thank you Bob and Antonie for introducing me to this and patiently (still) answering all my questions about this stuff! It can be pretty complicated and scientific at times.

About Staffaction

If I ever write a memoirs it will be called "From Podunk to Poland to Pakistan"...so says a good friend of mine anyway. I'm from a small town in Michigan and enjoy world travel. I'm a Christian, advocate for liberty, enjoy real food, and barefoot runs. I studied economics and now work full time for a missions organization as a link between US churches and overseas schools and churches, serving indigenous pastors by discipling and teaching them so they can teach others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Introduced to Primal

  1. Bob Ewing says:

    This is great Ben! I’m so glad to see how much you’ve grown. Have people been coming to you for advice lately?

  2. Staffaction says:

    Hi Bob! Sometimes, not a ton. When they do though, the questions are many and varied which makes a goo incentive to keep learning! Funny, I realized the other day that I tend to answer questions like Robb Wolf, “Well, it depends. What are your goals. Trying to lose weight, build muscle, etc…”
    It definitely can be a touchy issue (future post) so I try to let others initiate the conversation.

  3. Pingback: Primal Today | The Primal Challenge

Leave a Reply

