You mean I’m eating potentially bad stuff?!

I have a coworker two years ago to thank in regards to opening my eyes about my diet.  I had never paid much attention to it before. I tried to eat “healthy”.  But there wasn’t much rhyme or reason to it.  I am not even sure how we got to talking about this stuff.  Part of why I was so open to it because I tend to be skeptical of most everything the government says anyway.  So if the government says we must have fluoride in our water or that such and such is the food pyramid, well, I instantly don’t trust it.  Why?  Because there’s lots and lotsa money behind what the government says and does. And we know where there’s lots and lotsa money there is seldom honesty.

Maggie introduced me to the Weston A. Price Foundation. This was huge for me and I just gobbled it up, voraciously reading all I could.  As I mentioned in a previous post, I was already concerned about my health, I need not be convinced that it is important. What I do need and look for are the facts and how I can do it better.

Not everything the WAPF says is right on. I know Robb Wolf and others now say that Cod Liver oil isn’t what it’s cracked up to be.  Fair enough.  But they have tons of other good stuff. Below I list some things I read early on that were very informative and foundational for me. I highly recommending reading:

Ancient Dietary Wisdom for Tomorrow’s Children – A brief and lay persons overview of Dr. Weston A Price’s findings.

Fresh, Unprocessed, Raw (Whole) Milk – lowfat, pastuerized milk is good, right?  I thought otherwise after reading this and many other pieces on the subject.  Now I usually drink whole milk, and as soon as I can find a cheap source of raw milk I’ll be going for that as much as possible.  I used to have a steady diet of it when I used to live in Michigan.

Soy Alert! – It seems soy is the new trend in the grocery stores.  (I wonder if this also has something to do with government subsidizing the industry…)

WAPF brochures – I especially recommend the one on butter. For Pete’s sake, folks, real butter is not only delicious, it’s good for us.  Check out the ingredients of fake butters at the store sometime. Looks like it was produced by some chemical plant (it was…).  I also recommend the brochures on cancer prevention through food (degenerative diseases are not inevitable. How we eat has a huge impact on what happens to our bodies), Trans fats, and cholesterol (it’s not as bad as you’ve heard…).

So that was all very eye opening…started some fish oil, got rid of my vegetable oil, and first really started eating real food.

What were some of your light bulb moments in realizing the benefits of eating real food?

About Staffaction

If I ever write a memoirs it will be called "From Podunk to Poland to Pakistan"...so says a good friend of mine anyway. I'm from a small town in Michigan and enjoy world travel. I'm a Christian, advocate for liberty, enjoy real food, and barefoot runs. I studied economics and now work full time for a missions organization as a link between US churches and overseas schools and churches, serving indigenous pastors by discipling and teaching them so they can teach others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You mean I’m eating potentially bad stuff?!

  1. Jim Purdy says:

    YOU SAID:
    “…I tend to be skeptical of most everything the government says…”

    Why did you single out “the government?” Why not be skeptical of everybody, from big companies peddling processed junk carbohydrates, to the neighbor who thinks there are brainwashing drugs in jet contrails, to Republican presidential candidates who are terrified of science, to the screaming loonies on hate radio, to the fake reporters on Rupert Murdoch’s Fox News, to tell-a-lie-evangelists?

    Be skeptical of everybody, and trust your own body to tell you what works. All those magic chemicals from pharmaceutical labs have been around for only a very short time, certainly not long enough for our ancestors’ bodies to have evolved to deal with them.

    On the other hand, our bodies are the products of millions of years of evolution, and our bodies know very well how to use fresh unprocessed natural foods. A well-researched Paleo – Primal – Evolutionary diet is the way to go.

    And it will still be the right way, even when the government catches up with the science and says so.

    • Staffaction says:

      Fair enough, Jim. Here I was simply noting that in the context of the first conversations I had, my distrust of the government was especially applicable. Likewise, public choice economics shows us that a government institution simply has power and incentives that set it apart from any other organization or person in terms of perverse incentives and poor quality.

  2. Scott Ewing says:

    Weston Price’s research back in the 1930s was definitely at the forefront of identifying that the Western Diet (particularly flour and sugar) was the root cause of many health problems.

    Robb Wolf tackled a question a while back about Paleo vs. WAPF:
    http://robbwolf.com/2008/04/11/weston-price-vs-paleo/

    Marks Daily Apple also has a thread on the topic:
    http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread24094.html

    Great post!

  3. Pingback: Primal Today | The Primal Challenge

Leave a Reply

