Paleo CrockPot

A few days ago I decided to use the crockpot I got from Amazon for the first time. I love to cook, but sometimes I just want to get home from work and relax. These are the most dangerous days for me, because they are the ones where I am most likely to fall off my diet.

I’ve been trying to use the crockpot for a while now, so that dinner would be waiting for me when I get home. For those of you who have never used one, Scott Ewing has a great post about it here. They are pretty simple to use. Just gather some meat, a bunch of vegetable and throw them in. Over the next 8 hours the magic happens and you get home to (hopefully) a delicious smell.

For my first recipe, I decided to try to make some lamb. This was the first time I’ve ever tried to make lamb and I thought it would be a little bit of a challenge. Well, it wasn’t. I followed a recipe that I got from My Paleo CrockPot and it was incredibly easy and very tasty. By the way, this website (as the name suggests) is entirely dedicated to Paleo CrockPot recipes. A great resource!

Here is the recipe (I am just copying this straight from My Paleo CrockPot):

–          4 qt. crockpot

– 1 big ‘ol lamb chop
– 3 T olive oil
– 2 fresh sprigs rosemary (dried would work, too)
– 4 clove garlic, finely minced
– 1/2 t freshly ground black pepper
– dash sea salt

The Process:

Mix all ingredients (except the lamb!) together in a bowl.

Rub the herb and olive oil mixture into the lamb chop.  Plop the chop in the crockpot, dump any remaining oil or herbs over the top of it and turn it on LOW for 5-6 hours.

Run around with the kiddo all day, read a ton of books, crunch in the last leaves of fall and then come back to the house and ENJOY!

One thing that I did that she didn’t mention in the recipe was to brown the lamb before putting it in the slow cooker. Here is the end result:

Rosemary Garlic Roasted Lamb Chop

Great recipe, definitely recommended! The only downside was the price. I never knew lamb was so expensive!!! I’m probably going to save this recipe for a special occasion.

 

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paleo CrockPot

  1. Scott Ewing says:

    That rack of lamb looks delicious! But yeah, that cut’s super expensive. Try some cheaper cuts like lamb breast or lamb foreshanks. Lots of recipes on the interwebs:
    http://goo.gl/vO4Ax

  2. Bob Ewing says:

    Great post Fernando! I’ve got my crockpot and will have to give it a shot. Scott has a great post on crockpots also worth checking out: https://theprimalchallenge.wordpress.com/2011/07/12/easy-meals-on-the-cheap/

Leave a Reply

