Dairy

I’ve been toying with different levels of milk and dairy products in my diet during my last 60 days. At first it was hard for me to cut out dairy so I continued to use milk in my coffee and small amounts of cheese during my first 30 days. In my second 30 days, I switched to almond milk, and cut out the cheese. I did not notice much of a difference, except that my coffee tasted terrible. So, I’ve decided that since I enjoy it so much, and I seem to tolerate it well, I’m going to include it in my diet again in the right way. I understand that many if not most humans are lactose intolerant or sensitive, and was surprised to learn that full fat milk contains less lactose and is therefore easier to digest. It also tastes better, and is more nutritious than it’s skimmed counterpart. I recently returned from Costa Rica and their countryside was dotted with happy, healthy grazing dairy cows (pictured below). When I returned, I went on a search for grass-fed, non-homogenized, unpasteurized and full fat dairy options. Here are the best that I found:

Hartzler’s Cream Top Milk – Delicious in my coffee, or straight from the glass bottle. The cows are grass-fed, the milk is pasteurized at a very low temperature, and it is non-homogenized. I used to buy their skim milk, which was delicious, but I never realized how much tastier and healthier the full fat milk really was.

Erivan Yogurt – they pasteurize the cream only once before the culturing process. I mashed up some ripe blueberries and mixed them in with a drop of raw honey. Yum.

Here’s a very interesting article about dairy and the health benefits of fat. How do you respond to dairy in your diet? Are there any unpasteurized, non-homogenized, full fat or grass-fed dairy products you recommend?

 

About chebridget

I love food! I love to cook, try new restaurants, read books about food, talk about food and throw dinner parties. I also enjoy jogging, hiking, camping and traveling. I work 9-5 in a cubicle, so it's important to me that I spend the rest of the day doing what I love, which is cooking, spending time outdoors with friends, and doing musical theatre in my community. Going primal is going to be a challenge for me due to my love of all things dessert, but I'm excited to see what new recipes I can come up with.
This entry was posted in Food, Interesting article, satiety, the science behind it. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dairy

  1. Bob Ewing says:

    Great post Bridget. Antonie and I were heavy milk drinkers before we went paleo. We’d buy 1 or 2% by the gallon and go through a couple gallons every week. We LOVED drinking milk.

    When we went paleo, we cut diary out completely. After a few months, we decided to reintroduce it and see how our bodies responded. I was fine. She was not. Which makes sense, since she has Southeast Asian ancestry, which was exposed to milk more recently and they tend to be more intolerant to lactose.

    Now I regularly drink whole milk. Like you say, whole milk is more nutritious and far more tasty. I love it, and enjoy all the protein and fat that comes along with it. Antonie will have milk with me on occasion.

    And thanks for the great links!

Leave a Reply

