Progress Update: Chuck Grimmett Sr.

The following is a progress update from my parents, who successfully completed their 30 day challenge on November 1. It was written by my Dad, Chuck Grimmett Sr. Great job, Mom and Dad! I am proud of you!

My thirty day Primal Challenge ended on November 1st. I must say, it was both challenging and invigorating!

When my son Chuck mentioned the challenge, I thought, “Okay no problem, I can do this!”

My wife Linda and I decided to take the challenge together, so we weighed in and measured five points on our bodies, then went Primal. At first I was hungry all the time and thought there was nothing I could eat. We truly had to rethink the way we cooked and ate. For me lunch was the difficult meal, as I am on the road all day and used to eating the .99 cent value meals at all the popular fast food joints. Between days 15 through 30, I had more energy and started to see some weight loss and my hunger went away! An avid Coke drinker (pre-challenge) I stuck with water, averaging 1-2 liters a day.

My dear mother is concerned about my cholesterol, since I am eating a lot more protein and fat. I chuckled when I heard the interview Chuck had with John Durant; John’s mother has the same concerns! We as Americans are brain washed into thinking grains are the best food for you.

We plan on staying with the primal 90% of the time. We only ate out at a restaurant three times during our challenge. It is difficult to stay primal while eating out. Stay away from Olive Garden during your challenge! The steak houses and BBQ joints are your best bet.

Overall, we enjoyed learning new recipes and experimenting on some new ones during the challenge! Best of all, we lost pounds and inches! We lost a total of 12 inches over the five measured areas. I lost 14 pounds!

I would like to thank Bob Ewing and all the authors at The Primal Challenge for all you support! Also, thank you to Chuck for worrying about my health and introducing me to a new way of life.

About Chuck Grimmett

Web consultant, photographer, and problem solver. I also cook a lot and am learning to make data visualizations.
This entry was posted in Measurements, Progress!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Progress Update: Chuck Grimmett Sr.

  1. paleojoe says:

    Great job, Mr. and Mrs. G! Now if only I could convince my parents to take the challenge.

  2. Bob Ewing says:

    Congratulations Mr. and Mrs. G! You guys have become an inspiration to others. I’m going to make sure that my parents read this post. They’ve had lots of success on the diet, but my dad has started to slip recently. They did a long vacation and were tempted by the carbs.

    Stay strong! I look forward to reading your next update. In the meantime, have a great Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

