Primal Weekend Challenge: Set a Fitness Goal

Happy Friday, Primal Challengers!

The authors here at The Primal Challenge have been ramping up their efforts in order to bring you fresh content every day. (They have been doing a great job so far!) As a part of this increase in content, every Friday afternoon we will post a Weekend Challenge.

The Weekend Challenge is for those of you who have completed your 30 day challenge and are looking for something more, those of you who are currently doing a 30 day challenge and want to do a little something extra, and those of you who haven’t done a 30 day challenge but want to take some small steps to healthier living. In short, the Weekend Challenge is for everyone. Some of the challenges will be relatively straight forward, some will require extra thought, and some might be difficult.

Here is the deal: We will post a Weekend Challenge every Friday afternoon and we would like to hear back from you on Sunday night or Monday morning on how things went. You can just leave it in a comment on the post. Sound good? Excellent. Glad you are on board.

Here is the first Weekend Challenge:

Set a Fitness Goal

This weekend, take twenty minutes to set a fitness goal for yourself. You can choose later whether or not you want to take the steps to reach it, but I want everyone to at least set a goal and think about it for a little while.

Your goal does not have to be big and lofty like running an 8 minute mile by March 1st or add 100 lbs to your deadlift by April. It can be something small like being able to do 20 pushups without pausing by January 1 or take the stairs instead of the elevator at work this holiday season.

Think for a few minutes about a small fitness change you would like to make in your life, then jot it down somewhere you will see it.

If you want to take this a step further, here is a template you can fill out (h/t Pick Four):
My fitness goal:
____________________________________________________
Date I will reach this goal:
___/____/____
Benefits from reaching this goal:
____________________________________________________
Some obstacles I have to overcome to reach this goal:
____________________________________________________
A few people and resources that can help me reach this goal:
____________________________________________________
My plan for reaching this goal by the above date (jot down a few steps you will take):
____________________________________________________
____________________________________________________
____________________________________________________
____________________________________________________

I am going to do this, too. I will post my completed template in the comments Sunday night.

If during the process of thinking through your fitness goal you decided that you want to implement it, here are a few tips:

Don’t let being perfect come in the way of making gains. Don’t say, “I can’t do this” because you can’t get out for a run three days a week. Try to get out one day, and slowly work your way up. Starting is the most important thing. It is better to get out one day then not at all.

I suggest evaluating yourself on this goal every night. Answer these two questions every night until you reach your goal. You might be amazed by how these two questions keep you on track. If you answer them. (h/t Ben Stafford)
1. What did I do today to move me towards my goals?
2. If I could do the day over what would I do differently?

Do you already have your fitness in a position you are happy with? Pick a different kind of goal and use the above template.

Post your results in the comments, or at least let us know that you set a goal if you do not feel comfortable sharing it.

About Chuck Grimmett

Web consultant, photographer, and problem solver. I also cook a lot and am learning to make data visualizations.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Weekend Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Primal Weekend Challenge: Set a Fitness Goal

  1. paleojoe says:

    My fitness goals:
    Hiking/walking 3-4 days per week, despite weather conditions
    Lifting heavy things one hour per week

  2. Chuck Grimmett says:

    My fitness goal:
    -Begin a sustainable exercise routine/schedule with workouts that will challenge and build me.
    Date I will reach this goal:
    -I am starting tomorrow and I will hopefully keep this for years to come.
    Benefits from reaching this goal:
    -Increased strength, flexibility, and additional weight loss.
    Some obstacles I have to overcome to reach this goal:
    -I have to overcome my propensity to turn my alarm clock off and go back to sleep, and my procrastination, which leads me to push off working out to finish other things. I need to make this commitment and stick with it.
    A few people and resources that can help me reach this goal:
    -CrossFit, my friend Joe Chrisman, and other people in our workout group.
    My plan for reaching this goal by the above date (jot down a few steps you will take):
    -My friend Joe Chrisman and I made the commitment to learn CrossFit together. We are starting Monday afternoon. We will work out on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Fridays until Christmas break. I also contacted a CrossFit gym that just opened a few months ago about 5 minutes from my parents’ house so that I will have a community to work out with and learn from over Christmas break. When I come back to Hillsdale in January, my friend Joe will be gone (he is graduating early) but I am trying to find other WOD partners.

  3. Pingback: My primal weekend | The Primal Challenge

  4. My goal is to be able to run a 5k without taking a walking break by February.

  5. Pingback: My Response to Chuck’s Weekend Challenge | The Primal Challenge

Leave a Reply

