Changing Habits and Picking Pumpkins: Delicious Lessons During Break

Out of habit, I jumped in my vehicle, turned the ignition, and put it in reverse. I was going to the store. Before I took my foot off of the brake I thought about what I was doing. Why was I driving? The store is only as far from my home in Amherst as my classes are from my place in Hillsdale, which I walk to and from multiple times a day. It was just out of pure habit that I jumped in my vehicle to drive to the store.

Since being primal is a lifestyle change, it is important that we break these old habits. So, I promptly put my vehicle in park, turned the ignition back off, and got back out to make my way across the field and up the hill to the farm market where I worked when I was growing up. It was a pleasant walk up across the field and up the hill with a brisk breeze and colorful fall foliage off in the distance. Much better than the monotonous pavement, bad drivers, and exhaust fumes that I would have experienced had I stayed with my old habit of driving. Plus, I was getting exercise, breathing fresh air, and taking in some vitamin D.

When I walked in to Penton’s Market, I was greeted by a two familiar friendly faces, the owner Andy and his son Kyle. We chatted for a while about what they are doing, what I am doing, and how business is going. Thankfully, a nearby road that has been closed for over 6 months reopened a few days ago, so they are hopeful that people from the other side of town will start shopping there again.

I noticed there were jack-o-lantern pumpkins in the store, but no more pie pumpkins. This was a bummer, as I wanted to use the seeds out of the pie pumpkins for Primal Crunch and roast the rest of it to make some grain-free pumpkin bread. The owner Andy told me that I should walk back to the fields behind the market and pick a few, since they grew some pie pumpkins for their yearly Pumpkin Patch event. So I walked out of the market and down the dirt path I’ve walked many times before. This was the same path I walked down when I was 13 and was paid watered the pumpkin patch via a water tank on the back of a farm tractor for the entire summer. This was also the same path I walked down on the weekends in December when I was 15 to help people cut down their Christmas trees back behind the pumpkin patch. Walking down the path this time felt different, though. This was the first time I trodded the path as a consumer. As I looked around, not much has changed. Still, it was strange to be on the other end of things.

Kyle walked out to the field with me and we caught each other up on what we are doing now. It turns out that he has been primal since this summer! Small world. Maybe this is catching on!

As I walked through the muddy field that overcast, breezy October day, I was so glad that I decided to walk to this farm market rather than drive to the supermarket nearby to get pumpkin seeds like I originally planned. I got much more gratification out of walking through the field, cutting the pumpkin vines with my knife, and brushing the dirt and mud off of my three little pumpkins than I could ever possibly get out of driving to a supermarket.

So, what did I do with these pie pumpkins?

 

I cut them in half, scooped out the seeds for my Primal Crunch, and roasted them.

With the roasted pumpkin came three delicious dishes over the next two days (my photos):

Paleo Pumpkin Bread from Elana’s Pantry:

Bridget’s Pumpkin Souffle:

Almond Flour Pancakes from Elana’s Pantry with pumpkin added in for a different flavor. (We devoured them before I remembered to take a photo!)

I need to do more unexpected things like this. I need to change up my routine, do something out of the ordinary, and spend a little more time savoring “everyday life.” Something good might just come from it.

About Chuck Grimmett

Web consultant, photographer, and problem solver. I also cook a lot and am learning to make data visualizations.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Exercise, Food, Recipes, Time in the sun. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Changing Habits and Picking Pumpkins: Delicious Lessons During Break

  1. donnoj says:

    The Paleo Pumpkin Bread looks and sounds AMAZING! I’m going to have to try that! Thanks for sharing.

    • Bob Ewing says:

      I agree with Donno, that bread is amazing! Inspiring post Chuck. I really like how you ditched the car and took a walk to the farm market instead. Awesome.

  2. geezerguy46 says:

    I loved this story. Life does offer us choices. But if we don’t pause to think about it, habit and routine can rob us of many wonderful opportunities. Thanks for reminding me of this! It just may have been the spark I needed to CHOOSE to get out of my rut and accept an offer from my son to hike Seneca Rocks!

  3. Pingback: Hard Rules versus Soft Rules | The Primal Challenge

Leave a Reply

