Still going strong

Despite my lack of posts for the past several days, I am actually still on track. Since Friday, I have attended several meetings at NYU with catered food. Most of them had a salad option with chicken, which was nice, but not always. At one meeting I found myself picking toppings off a pizza!  I’ve gone for several runs outside, which is nice since the NY fall weather has been kind. A few observations:

1. I’ve had to keep tailoring how I respond when people ask me about these lifestyle changes I’ve been making. Most people seem to think what I am doing is unsustainable, so why even bother. I still haven’t figured out how exactly to present it, but I’m getting there.

2. When being served food, I have to be prepared for the possibility that there will ne no options that work for me, and therefore, have a plan B in mind. This plan B can include prepared food that I brought along, or even just scoping out a nearby place to eat immediately after if necessary.

3. My energy is back! The first few days of withdrawal from my high sugar, high processed foods was driving me crazy. Don’t get me wrong, I still have cravings, but they are not accompanied with the drastic energy lows of the first few days. From what I have read, this will all calm down soon enough (people, please tell me this is correct).

4. I’m a californian in New York. I HATE going outside when it is cold. When I look around, however, people who do outdoor activities, dress for it. They have the right accessories, gloves, workout gear, etc. If I want to survive come November, I need to figure things out ahead of time.

Day 5 and still motivated. Thanks everyone for your support!

This entry was posted in Progress!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still going strong

  1. Sounds like you are doing great, Donovan!

    When you have to go to lunch meetings that do not have primal options, consider throwing some snacks like a primal pac or paleo kit in your bag to eat immediately afterwards:
    http://www.primalpacs.com/
    http://stevesoriginal.com/

    Or just a small bag of nuts and berries. Whichever is easier for you. I am a DIY guy, so I like making my own snacks, but some people have less time and more money than I do, so buying snacks is always a good option.

  2. Bob Ewing says:

    Great post dude. The best explanation for your change will be how much better you start to look and feel. Pretty soon, instead of people being skeptical they’ll be inspired! Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

