Primal Crunch: Grain-Free Granola

When I first started the primal challenge, I decided that I need some go-to primal snacks so that I would not give in and cheat, so I ordered a Steve’s Original Sampler Pack. I can not afford buying that stuff frequently, even though it is going towards a good cause. So, I decided to try my hand at making some of the items in the sampler pack. I already made some Primal Kits two months ago, so yesterday while I was home on break I turned my attention to making some Primal Crunch.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds (I dug mine out of pumpkins I picked that day!)
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 slivered almonds
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/3-1/2 cup honey
  • 1/8-1/4 cup coconut oil (or your favorite fat)
  • 2 teaspoons of pure vanilla
  1. Preheat your oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. For a fine “granola”, chop/process the slivered almonds, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, and coconut in a food processor until it reaches your desired consistence. Then add in your almond meal and ground flaxseeds and pulse the processor a few times to mix everything together well. If you prefer a coarse granola, just dump everything in a bowl and mix it together well.
  3. Dump your mixture in a bowl and drizzle in the honey and coconut oil. If your coconut oil is solid, put it in the microwave for 20 seconds (the melting point is 76 degrees F, so it should quickly become liquid.) Mix everything together well.
  4. Spread the granola out on a baking sheet. (I lined mine with parchment paper for easy clean up.)
  5. Bake at 325 degrees F for 15 minutes, pull the tray out of the oven and mix the granola up, then bake it for another 5 minutes, or until it reaches your desired level of crunch. For a crunchier granola, leave it in until everything is golden, but take it out immediately if you like your granola to be slightly moist.

I made two batches of this. One batch was the recipe above and in the second batch I swapped out vanilla for pumpkin pie spices (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, allspice.) It is delicious!

I am home in northern Ohio this weekend, so for breakfast my Mom mixed the primal crunch with some pumpkin souffle that I made from Bridget’s recipe and she said it made an excellent breakfast food.

For those of you on the west side of Cleveland (I know there are a number of you related to or friends with the Ewings), check out Apple Hill in Amherst if you are looking for somewhere to buy stuff like almond meal, shredded unsweetened coconut, coconut oil, arrowroot powder, ground flaxseed, and dried fruits and nuts. They have quality products and pretty good prices.

About Chuck Grimmett

Web consultant, photographer, and problem solver. I also cook a lot and am learning to make data visualizations.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Primal Crunch: Grain-Free Granola

  1. Pingback: Changing Habits and Picking Pumpkins: Delicious Lessons During Break | The Primal Challenge

  2. Bob Ewing says:

    Excellent recipe! I’m going to have to give this one a shot.

  3. Bob Ewing says:

    Oh, and enjoy your time in Ohio! I’m jealous.

Leave a Reply

