Day 1 – So not ready, but committed anyway

So I’m back in New York. I just woke up, have not eaten anything yet, and really want a cup of coffee. I am a moderate coffee drinker, averaging anywhere from 0-2 cups a day, generally with cream or half and half and no sugar. Funnily enough, I feel pretty good about most principles of the primal challenge (foods, sleep, getting outside), but I want to make sure I know what my relationship with coffee will be for the next 30 days. I’ve been looking around, and most primal and paleo folks don’t mind a little coffee in moderation, so I am going to limit myself to one small cup a day with a touch of cream. I didn’t really prepare, so all I have in my fridge that is primal friendly is a grapefruit and some eggs (i’m going to subscribe to the 80/20 rule, but it might be a little unsettling to start day one in the 20 zone). I have the morning off to do some shopping for food and a tape measure for the first round of measurements I do tonight. Seeing as I live alone, this blog is going to have to be my healthy team for the time being. However, I plan to work on my gym buddy over the next few weeks. See you tonight or tomorrow with measurements and photos…gasp!

This entry was posted in Contest, Exercise, Food, Measurements, New Primal Challenger! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 1 – So not ready, but committed anyway

  1. Scott Ewing says:

    I still need my coffee fix most mornings too… Check out the two links below for some good starting points. Looking forward to your next post!

    https://theprimalchallenge.wordpress.com/?s=sharing+my+wisdom
    https://theprimalchallenge.wordpress.com/2011/09/09/primal-paleo-book-recommendations-for-a-beginner-where-to-start/

  2. Bob Ewing says:

    Welcome to day 1! Cheers on officially kicking things off, and getting your measurements squared away. You’re going to do great.

  3. davidisfat says:

    Congratulations, this will be one of the best decisions you could ever make with regard to your health.

    Regards,
    David

  4. Donovan,

    Congrats on starting! That in itself is a major part of the battle. Don’t be discouraged by starting day one in the 20 zone… acknowledging that it is in the 20 zone is likely far ahead of where you were a month ago.

    From the looks of your later post, you were on track the rest of the day! Congrats, again! For your health, like investing, the most important thing is starting early. I am confident you will see great results!

    Best,

    Chuck

Leave a Reply

