Local Beef Chili

The key here is to find some locally raised pastured beef, but this search will be worthwhile! I get mine from Millgate Farm, through our local farmer’s market. If you can’t find any (check out localharvest.org), your average grass fed beef or bison will do. This recipe is from Cafe Bon Appetit and I sampled it at the Ripe! Festival in downtown Cleveland. This chili was SO delicious, and the only thing I had to tweak from their original recipe to make it Paleo-friendly was olive oil in exchange for canola oil. You could probably try using fresh tomatoes, if you have the time to let them stew all day.

LOCAL BEEF CHILI

1 pound local ground beef, 1 tbsp olive oil, 2 tbsp cumin, ½ cup dark chili powder, 1 tsp cayenne pepper, 2 tbsp granulated garlic, 2 tbsp salt, 1 tbsp fresh ground black pepper, 2 medium Spanish onions, diced, 2 green peppers, diced, 1 jalapeño, minced, ¼ cup chopped garlic, 2 cans diced tomatoes (15 oz) or 10 fresh tomatoes, diced, 2 cans tomato purée (8oz)

Combine all dry ingredients together and set aside.  Heat oil in separate pan and brown ground beef.  Add half of dry seasoning mix.  Drain off fat.  In soup pot sauté onions and garlic until translucent.  Add peppers, beef, tomatoes and the remainder of the dry seasoning mix.  Bring to a boil and turn down to a simmer.  Simmer for 1 hour, stirring occasionally. Check seasoning and add salt and pepper to taste.

About chebridget

I love food! I love to cook, try new restaurants, read books about food, talk about food and throw dinner parties. I also enjoy jogging, hiking, camping and traveling. I work 9-5 in a cubicle, so it's important to me that I spend the rest of the day doing what I love, which is cooking, spending time outdoors with friends, and doing musical theatre in my community. Going primal is going to be a challenge for me due to my love of all things dessert, but I'm excited to see what new recipes I can come up with.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Local Beef Chili

  1. Bob Ewing says:

    I love chili! Great post, Antonie and I are going to try this one out.

  2. geezerguy46 says:

    Looks really good. I can tell you are going to be my recipe Guru!

  3. Scott Ewing says:

    Great recipe! One ingredient you might want to try as a substitute for the jalepeno is a small can of Chipolte peppers in adobo sauce. Chipolte peppers are jalepeno peppers that have been smoke dried. It gives your chili a distinctive smoky flavor…

  4. chebridget says:

    Yes, those are great-and very spicy. I have another chili recipe with chunks of brisket and butternut squash that uses the chipotle in adobo sauce. Yum!

Leave a Reply

