Sharing My Wisdom: Chuck Grimmett

Here are my answers to Mark Sisson’s Share Your Wisdom contest. Also check out Scott Dworkin’s, Bob Ewing’s, and Scott Ewing’s.

1. In as few words as possible, how would you explain the Primal Blueprint to someone new to the concept?

The Primal Blueprint is a way of life that emphasizes getting back to basics. Eat clean, non-processed, non-refined foods, stay active, get plenty of sleep, and eliminate stress.

2. What is the first thing a person should do to kick start their Primal life?

The first thing someone should to to kick start their Primal life is rid their diet of grains. This is the biggest step for most people, but the most crucial one. Exercise, de-stressing, etc. can be worked gradually if one does not want to make too many changes at once, but eliminating grains will make you begin feeling better and start performing better right away. Remember this, though: Do not let slip-ups be the end of your Primal experiment. Pick yourself back up, dust yourself off, and try again tomorrow. Do not beat yourself up over not being 100% primal every day. Remember the 80/20 rule and try to do the best you can.

3. What do you think is the most important thing one should understand as they attempt to go Primal?

The most important thing to understand when attempting to go Primal is that it is a lifestyle change, not just a diet. Sure, going Primal changes the way you eat, but also need to make other changes such as staying active, lifting heavy things, getting plenty of sleep, and eliminating stress. One doesn’t go Primal just to slim down and they go back to their old habits… that defeats the purpose. Going Primal is a way to live a happier, healthier, more active, and more productive life.

4. What was the biggest hurdle you experienced when going Primal and how did you overcome it?

The biggest hurdle I experienced when going Primal was the cravings. I had constant battles with my will power and sometimes late at night, my will power would win. To counter it, I did the best I could to remove non-primal food items such as muffins, doughnuts, pizza, etc. from my house (difficult, since I live with 4 other college senior guys), and I set up a system to keep me in check. First, if I had cravings, I would drink water. If I was still hungry, I ate some primal snacks like nuts, primal kits, jerky, etc. I also went up to my room where I had a list of goals posted above my desk. I am a big fan of keeping goals in plain sight and evaluating yourself on them every day. I use the Pick Four system (based on Zig Ziglar’s system). This kept my goals on my mind throughout the day. Giving in to cravings became much harder when I knew I would have to write in my tracking journal that night that I gave in. Eventually, most of the cravings for junk food went away and I am no longer hungry during the time in-between meals.

5. If there is something you’d go back and do differently as it relates to diet, fitness and lifestyle behaviors, what would it be and why?

I would have started my sprinting and weight workouts earlier. I walk quite a bit every day, but I feel much better on the weeks when I get a more exercise in. (I usually exercise twice a week.) I feel less sluggish, more alert, and sleep better. I was eating Primal for a month before I started exercising, and I can tell a difference on the weeks I don’t exercise. Starting earlier would have been much better,

6. What do you usually eat for breakfast?

A few days a week I skip breakfast, but on the days I eat breakfast, I usually eat one of two things: On days where I have to be at work or class early, I make a shake with protein powder, berries, a raw egg, and half of an avocado. On days where I have more time, I usually make an omelet with some type of meat and veggies.

7. What is your favorite Primal recipe and how do you make it?

Chicken and Spinach Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

8. What is your favorite Primal workout and how do you do it?

I alternate various kettlebell swings and sprints. This goes on for about 30 minutes or until I am too tired to keep going. I will do 20 swings, sprint 100 meters, stretch, sprint 100 meters back, do 20 swings, sprint/stretch/sprint, and continue. I plan to incorporate sprinting with the kettlebells soon.

9. What is your best dining-out tip?

Always ask for substitutes. Most restaurants will be happy to substitute veggies for rice, bread, baked potatoes, etc. Also, ask the server to box up half of your meal before it gets brought to the table. If you don’t see the extra food on your plate, you won’t want it. This also gives you a good primal lunch for the next day.

10. How do you manage to stay Primal when friends, family, coworkers and the rest of the world aren’t?

I network with friends online (https://theprimalchallenge.wordpress.com), keep reading good books like Wheat Belly, Why We Get Fat, etc, and stick to my evaluation system I mentioned in number 4.

About Chuck Grimmett

Web consultant, photographer, and problem solver. I also cook a lot and am learning to make data visualizations.
This entry was posted in Contest, Exercise, Food, Sleep. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sharing My Wisdom: Chuck Grimmett

  1. Bob Ewing says:

    Nice answers Chuck!

  2. Scott Ewing says:

    Hmmm… may have to try that Pick Four system.

Leave a Reply

