Sharing My Wisdom: Scott Ewing

Here’s my responses for the MarksDailyApple contest:
  1. In as few words as possible, how would you explain the Primal Blueprint to someone new to the concept?It’s a way of eating, exercising, & de-stressing that tons of people, including myself, have gotten really great results from.  Basically it’s getting rid of a lot of the toxic stuff that people aren’t genetically programmed for, and adding some fun back into your day. 
  2. What is the first thing a person should do to kick start their Primal life?Follow these 7 simple steps:1. Spend time outside every day.

    2. Watch at least one sunrise and one sunset.

    3. Get lots of sleep.

    4. Learn a little bit about health every day.

    5. Get your basic measurements.

    6. Follow the 80-20 rule.

    7. Be a part of a healthy team.

  3. What do you think is the most important thing one should understand as they attempt to go Primal?Don’t go overboard.  Follow the 80/20 principle.
  4. What was the biggest hurdle you experienced when going Primal and how did you overcome it?Social situations with food & drink can be difficult.  Don’t get preachy on other people, and simply do the best you can to minimize the bad stuff you consume, and instead just focus on having great conversations!
  5. If there is something you’d go back and do differently as it relates to diet, fitness and lifestyle behaviors, what would it be and why?I try not to spend any time worrying about the past, it’s much more productive to focus on the present!
  6. What do you usually eat for breakfast?Nothing.  I usually follow Martin Berkhan’s intermittent fasting routine, where I only eat between noon and ~8pm daily.  Otherwise, I love making protein smoothies with frozen fruit in the morning, along with a hard boiled egg.
  7. What is your favorite Primal recipe and how do you make it?By far my favorite recipe is to throw a bunch of meat & veggies into my pressure cooker.  I have several days worth of fantastic tasting chili/stew within minutes.  I throw meal-sized portions into ziploc bags & take it to work for lunch.  The recipe always changes based on what’s on sale at the local market, and I keep getting better with my recipes!
  8. What is your favorite Primal workout and how do you do it?I’m trying to follow Wendler’s 5/3/1 strength training routine.  In addition I bike to work most days (4.5mi each way), visit the rock climbing gym, do group Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga classes, and swim laps at the gym.
  9. What is your best dining-out tip?Be brave and try a type of meat/fowl/fish you’ve never eaten before.
  10. How do you manage to stay Primal when friends, family, coworkers and the rest of the world aren’t?See #4


About Scott Ewing

Primal Blueprint enthusiast living in Chicago. Twitter: @scewing
This entry was posted in Contest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sharing My Wisdom: Scott Ewing

  1. Bob Ewing says:

    Great post! Sounds like we have similar tastes when it comes to breakfast.

    I want to hear more about 5/3/1 routine, and I bet the primal folks would like to learn more about Martin Berkham.

  2. Pingback: Sharing My Wisdom: Chuck Grimmett | The Primal Challenge

Leave a Reply

