New Job, New Lifestyle!

Hello fellow-primals and those who are considering the change!

I have the pleasure of knowing Bob and Antonie quite well and I am very excited to be included in this family!  My first post is going to be informational and introductory.  I promise to attempt to be funnier/more interesting in future posts.

I started working at a law firm in NY on Monday.  After a summer of studying for the bar and lying around, it’s time for me to kick my fitness into gear.  I play ultimate frisbee and was a competitive swimmer throughout college, so regimented workouts and an active lifestyle have always been a big part of my life.   I know that my new work hours are going to be demanding, so I decided to start a rigorous exercise routine and Primal at the same time- so that I don’t fall into a sitting-at-my-desk-like-a-blob cycle.

For me, the purpose of going primal is to feel better, lose a small amount of weight, and to drop my crack-like addiction to processed foods and refined sugars.

For exercise I’m doing Insanity a few times a week, running 2-3 times each week, a track workout once a week, and ultimate frisbee practice/tournaments on the weekend.  I try to do this before work, so that I don’t have an excuse to skip out when I get home.

In terms of diet, I’m trying to shoot for 90/10 when it comes to processed foods although I am allowing myself dairy in moderation.  I also splurge on decaf coffee, dark chocolate and diet coke every now and then.

My sister, Corin (who is infinitely more entertaining) and I are doing this together- which makes the whole thing so much easier.  I have someone to hold me accountable, complain about the cravings, and compare results with on a daily basis.  My biggest recommendation is to try to do this with someone you live or work with.  I tried the Paleo diet last year, and lasted a month, but it was difficult because my boyfriend/roommate is a cereal addict.  I think that having Corin will be a great influence.

I’m on day 3 now and it’s already getting easier.  Day 1 I had a killer headache by 9pm (my sugar withdrawal makes me feel very hungry and tired and gives me a terrible headache).  Day 2 I felt fine until around 4pm, then I was insanely hungry.  After eating spaghetti squash with a beef marinara sauce, I felt much better.  Today has been fine- I went out to lunch with a partner and had a pea soup and some salmon- so I think it will even be easy for me to stick to the diet in an environment where I don’t have too much control over my food options.

I’m looking forward to making almond butter banana pancakes this weekend and running around the city in my vibrams.

Good luck if you are changing your lifestyle as well!

A

This entry was posted in Exercise, Food, New Primal Challenger!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Job, New Lifestyle!

  1. davidisfat says:

    Congratulations on joining the movement.

    Good luck,
    David

  2. Bob Ewing says:

    Awesome job Ashley!! We’re excited to have you and Corin on board. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

