Banana Brulee

Lots of people have a sweet tooth. I have 32. I knew I would have to think of some dessert options quick if this was going to be a feasible lifestyle change for me. This definitely hit the spot. Enjoy!

Makes 1 serving. You will need: A butane or propane torch, 1 banana, 1/4 cup diced pineapple, 4 fresh mint leaves finely chopped, 1 T fresh lime juice, 2 T raw clover honey, 2 T chopped marcona almonds

Mix together the pineapple, mint and lime juice in a small bowl and set aside. Peel banana and cut diagonally to expose the inside surface. Arrange on a (heat safe) plate and spread a thin layer of honey on the top side of the banana slices. Use the torch to caramelize (brulee) the honey on the tops of the bananas. Spoon some salsa on the side of the plate, and sprinkle the chopped almonds on top. Garnish with remaining mint.

This dish needs to be served immediately to get the full effect of the “brulee.” The caramelized tops will quickly soften.

About chebridget

I love food! I love to cook, try new restaurants, read books about food, talk about food and throw dinner parties. I also enjoy jogging, hiking, camping and traveling. I work 9-5 in a cubicle, so it's important to me that I spend the rest of the day doing what I love, which is cooking, spending time outdoors with friends, and doing musical theatre in my community. Going primal is going to be a challenge for me due to my love of all things dessert, but I'm excited to see what new recipes I can come up with.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banana Brulee

  1. Scott Ewing says:

    Damn that looks good!

Leave a Reply

