GET ‘THE CAVEMAN’ SPECIAL: When eating out, ask for primal

Today I came to work without food.   Antonie and I spent the weekend in Michigan with my family, and we didn’t get home until after 1am last night.   We were exhausted, and I left for work this morning without bringing any food for lunch.

What to do?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Since I’m committed to being 100% primal this month, I can’t cheat.   Even for one meal.   Now, there are a few options I’ve discovered that are primal friendly.   Many area restaurants offer salads with meat, including Cosi and Chipotle.   Those are always good options.   But I was in the mood for a Mike’s Cafe turkey melt.   Their turkey is hand-carved right before you.  Mike’s has some of the best food in town:  healthy, tasty and cheap.

Unfortunately, everything comes as a sandwhich or wrap.   So I simply asked them if I could have it as a salad instead.   The woman looked confused for a second, but her boss said “sure!” and she smiled and happily obliged.   It looked so good that the woman behind me said, “ooh, what’s that??  I’ll have one of those!”

I brought my turkey melt salad back to the office and showed it off to a few co-workers.   It was delicious.   I keep a gallon of milk at work to drink after exercising at lunch, so I treated myself to some milk as well.   Not bad for a quick lunch:  turkey melt salad, milk, water.

Incidentally there’s a local food truck that sells Middle Eastern halal.  It’s fantastic.  All of their options come with rice, though.   So I’ve taken to asking for a version that has extra meat and no rice.   They’re happy to make it.   In fact, when I show up to their cart, they look at me and simply say, “The Caveman!”

I’ve been ordering “The Caveman” from them for months now, and a few weeks ago they told me that they’ve even started serving “The Caveman” at their brick-and-mortar restaurant!   Pretty cool.

Bottom line:  Even when you’re lazy and need to grab a quick bite on the go, you have options.   If they aren’t obvious, be creative.

About Bob Ewing

On twitter @DCBarefootRun. Media guy for libertarian law firm by day, primal/paleo (rocking climbing, BJJ, barefooter) by, well, lunchtime... https://theprimalchallenge.wordpress.com/ http://DCBarefootRun.com
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to GET ‘THE CAVEMAN’ SPECIAL: When eating out, ask for primal

  1. davidisfat says:

    when you can get the food vendors thinking primal/paleo, you’ve truly got a movement happening!

    Well Done!

    Regards,
    David

  2. Bob Ewing says:

    That’s right! Some the vendors really do serve good stuff. Thanks!

  3. Pingback: My Answers to the Mark’s Daily Apple “Share Your Wisdom” Contest | The Primal Challenge

Leave a Reply

