Andy & January: We’re down 18 pounds in 10 days

Team Soell has a primal update on their blog.   You may remember Andy and January from our post about them last week.  Their update is so inspiring that I’m going to copy the whole thing here:

Since announcing our participation in the Primal Challenge earlier this month, we’ve gotten a really wide array of responses. I had no people could get so worked up over a simple change in diet! Responses have included everything from “That’s great, we’ve been eating that way for a while and feel great” all the way to “That’s the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard, and you’ll probably die eating that way.” Nevertheless, here we are, ten days in still alive and kicking, so I wanted to put together an update on how it’s been going so far.

It’s with complete surprise that I have to say that it really has been incredibly easy.  January and I both work at home, so I feel like we already had a good head start on this thing; We were careful to clean out the fridge of anything off limits and make sure we were well stocked with the staples: lots of high quality meat, lots of vegetables and fruit, a few dozen eggs, and a few other odds and ends. From there it was a pretty simple matter of just using the stuff we had around the house to cook our meals. It also helped to plan the major meals ahead of time so we knew what was coming up and we didn’t fall into the trap of “I’m so hungry, but I don’t know what to make.”

paleo-food

During this past week, we have had some of the best meals I can remember ever making at home. I’m going to save specific recipes for later this month, but a few of the things we’ve found to be our favorites are mini-quiches and fruit for breakfasts, coconut shrimp, and burgers (sans bun, of course). We’ve also been eating a crazy amount of avocado, which we both love. There are few things I can think of that aren’t made better with a dollop of guacamole.

Personally, I did struggle a week into the challenge, when we got to the weekend. I woke up Saturday morning with anintense craving for pancakes. I love — love — eggs, but omelettes every morning for a solid week is too much even for me. I didn’t give in on the pancakes, but we are still struggling to try to find good breakast options that don’t include, or at least that don’t feature, eggs.

While the food side of things is going pretty well, we’ve been somewhat hit-and-miss with the other facets of the challenge; We haven’t seen a sunrise or sunset yet. It can be surprisingly difficult to find time to get outside, even for 15 minutes, on some days. And as for the “no glowing rectangles in the bedroom” rule, well, that lasted for about 1 hour the first night. What can I say? We’re technology addicts.

But we’re definitely already seeing some positive effects on our lives; January has mentioned several times that she feels more energetic, especially in the afternoon when people tend to start to drag a little. I think we’ve both noticed that our concentration has increased a bit, as well. And, most notably, over the past ten days we have lost a combined 18 pounds.  Eighteen pounds! It’s hard to argue with that.

We still have about three weeks left, but we’re both really encouraged by how things are going so I expect it to fly right by without many major issues.  If you’ve been thinking about trying paleo out or taking the Primal Challenge yourself, I would have to say that it’s worth investingating. Check back in ten days the two-thirds update, and I’ll talk a little more about the specific foods we’re eating, and hopefully share a few recipes that have been getting us through the transition.

About Bob Ewing

On twitter @DCBarefootRun. Media guy for libertarian law firm by day, primal/paleo (rocking climbing, BJJ, barefooter) by, well, lunchtime... https://theprimalchallenge.wordpress.com/ http://DCBarefootRun.com
This entry was posted in Progress! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Andy & January: We’re down 18 pounds in 10 days

  1. Scott Ewing says:

    Great work on the challenge! I have trouble limiting the glowing rectangle too… As for breakfast, I usually do a smoothie. I have bags of frozen berries in the freezer, a container of 100% cacao, and a big bag of natural Whey Protein Isolate from NOW Foods I got on Amazon.com. I mix them together in my magic bullet for a super quick and filling breakfast before heading off to work. Although I do eat a hard boiled egg almost everyday when I get to the office… Best of luck!

    • Bob Ewing says:

      That sounds awesome Scott. Any chance for a post on this that includes a picture & ingredient list? Maybe some tips like what cacao is & how to buy it? That’d be sweet.

  2. The Real Food Mama says:

    This is awesome! I just love when I hear about folks stepping over to the Primal side of life and feeling great because of it!!

    Remember that giving up the carbs we used to eat can be hard, they have an addictive quality and tend to cause carvings, but they do pass!

    18 pounds! That’s great!!

    I thought of something for your pancake craving! I have a Veggie Latke (pancake) recipe on my blog that using carrots and zucchini, but could easily use blueberries or raspberries instead, the “batter” would stay the same but instead of adding the veggies to the mix you would add the berries instead!! I want to try this this weekend too! Its been far too long with out some pancakes!!

    Hope its ok to leave you the link to that recipe:
    http://therealfoodmama.com/2010/12/05/veggies-latkes

    Good Luck and keep up the good work!

    • Bob Ewing says:

      Thanks so much for the support and the recipe! Excellent idea on the “pancakes” with fruit! I’m going to have to try that one.

  3. The Real Food Mama says:

    Cool, i am going to make them this Saturday and post the alternative recipe to using the veggies!! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Mid Week Link Love « The Real Food Mama

  5. Pingback: Team Soell: We’ve lost almost 50 pounds with the Primal Challenge | The Primal Challenge

Leave a Reply

