Try This Observation Game

From Robb Wolf’s Prologue to The Paleo Solution:

I want you to try a little observation game.  Go to a public location with lots of people and look around.  Not in a creepy “Chester-the-Molester” way — just observe the folks around you and keep a mental tally of the following:  How many people look healthy?  You know, vibrant, energetic, slim, athletic.  All?  Some?  None? […]

When I play the above observation game, I see few examples of health.  Little kids are chubby.  Teenagers are muffin topped and hollow eyed.  And instead of enjoying active golden years, elderly folks are consigned to walkers and wheelchairs.  You may be shrugging and thinking, Yeah, so what?  That’s all normal.  Well, normal can be mistaken for “common,” because the above conditions are neither right nor normal.

There’s an analogy about environmental change that goes like this:  A frog is living in room temperature water, going about its normal froggy life.  One day the temperature of the water starts to rise, but it happens so incrementally, the frog does not even notice.  While he is frogging around, he literally boils alive.

I’m not sure that this scenario would actually happen this way — I’d surely hope that our friend Kermit would notice things were going from balmy to bisque, but the analogy is powerful, and it eerily describes our modern world.  As a society, we have become so sick, weak, and broken, we accept the abnormal as normal.  We accept that our kids are too fat to play and blame it on “genetics.”

What people do not realize is that it’s not the frog in the soup, it’s us, and the temperature is most assuredly rising.

About Bob Ewing

On twitter @DCBarefootRun. Media guy for libertarian law firm by day, primal/paleo (rocking climbing, BJJ, barefooter) by, well, lunchtime... https://theprimalchallenge.wordpress.com/ http://DCBarefootRun.com
This entry was posted in Interesting article, Time in the sun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Try This Observation Game

  1. Antonie Hodge says:

    After reading a great amount on this diet and lifestyle I began to realize that my perception of what I thought was a normal part of life (getting old, cripple, fat, slow metabolism after 30 etc) was actually due to our poor diets. I like knowing that I can change/stop/reverse these things that are thought to be part of life’s journey. Art De Vany is pretty inspiring for this too.

    • Bob Ewing says:

      Agreed! I thought being frail and fat was a part of aging. And that by the time you hit 30, you’re already well on your way downhill. I’ll be 32 soon, but thanks to being primal I’d say I’m in the best shape I’ve ever been, including when I wrestled in high school. I’ve still got a ways to go on making improvements, but I’m eager to keep improving and to stay healthy and strong for a long, long time. Primal RULES.

  2. Pingback: Not Exactly Primal: Rope Swing FAIL | The Primal Challenge

  3. Pingback: The Most Notable Thing About Tuesday’s Attempted Suicide | The Primal Challenge

Leave a Reply

