Smoothies Revisited

A month ago, Bob had a great post on making smoothies for breakfast. I rather like the idea of being able to make a quick, nutritious, healthy breakfast, so I started experimenting.

I made pretty much every variation on different mixes of berries I could think of, but I am not going to list them here. Each of those came down to personal preference. (I did learn that I don’t like blueberries as much as I thought.)

There were three of my “experiments” I kept coming back to, though. They were different enough from the berry combinations that I think they are worth mentioning here. Each of these “recipes” are for one glassful.

Chocolate Protein and Avocado
I know this sounds like it would be gross, but just trust me on this one. The mix of chocolate and avocado flavors is wonderful. I was very skeptical when I first tried it, but after a few sips, I was hooked. This is my “go to” smoothie now. Not only is it delicious, but it gives you a great dose of healthy fats to start your day off right.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Blend:
Meat of 1/2 of an Avocado
Chocolate Protein Powder
Coconut Milk (you can substitute almond milk or cow’s milk here, but I like the flavor that coconut milk adds)
1 Raw Egg
Ice

Banana, Almond Butter, Chocolate Protein, and Flaxseed
This is a thick, creamy, satisfying smoothie. I love the combination of nut, banana, and chocolate flavors.
Blend:
1 Banana,
2 Tablespoons of Almond Butter (creamy, unless you want chunks of almonds in your smoothie)
Chocolate Protein Powder
2 Tablespoons of ground Flaxseed (for texture, the nutty flavor, and omega-3s)
1 Raw Egg
Ice
Milk (you can substitute almond milk if you avoid dairy, but I don’t suggest try coconut milk… it changes the flavor too much for my liking)

Espresso, Milk, and Chocolate Protein
For those of you who haven’t broken your caffeine addiction yet and are looking for an alternative to your Starbucks Mocha Frappuccino, look no further. This is delicious and gets you up and running in the morning, giving your brain a boost and your body some fuel.
Blend:
2 shots of espresso (or however much strong coffee you want if you don’t have an espresso machine)
Ice
Chocolate Protein Powder
Milk
1 raw egg (optional)

What are your favorite smoothie recipes? Let us know in the comments!

About Chuck Grimmett

I love to cook, cure and smoke meat, hike, and stay on top of the latest technology.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Smoothies Revisited

  1. Bob Ewing says:

    Awesome. Honestly, I never thought about putting avocados into my smoothies, even though I love avocados and I love smoothies. I’m trying the avocado smoothie tonight, and the almond butter one soon after. Funny enough, I just had a buddy suggest to me to try using almond butter in a smoothie — glad to this recipe to try it out.

    Great post & pics!

  2. Scott Ewing says:

    Awesome recipes! I’ve never used raw egg or avacado in my smoothies, and I always have both in my fridge. My go-to smoothie ingredients also include 100% cacao powder, matcha green tea powder, NOW Foods unflavored 100% Whey Protein Isolate, and Goya Frozen Fruit pulp. Links below:

    http://www.greenteapowder.com/index.php?page=store
    http://www.goya.com/english/product_subcategory/Frozen-Foods/Fruit-Pulps

  3. My favorite:
    2 oz coconut milk
    4 oz water or almond milk
    1-2 scoops Vanilla Primal Fuel (or vanilla protein powder of your choice)
    1/2 cup frozen cherries
    1/2 frozen banana
    1 Tbsp. raw cacao powder
    1 tsp. vanilla
    stevia (optional)
    Ice (if your fruit isn’t frozen)
    Blend until smooth and creamy, Enjoy!

  4. Pingback: Primal Gift Ideas | The Primal Challenge

  5. Pingback: Dairy-Free Challenge, Week 1 Update (Chuck) | The Primal Challenge

  6. stephy0905 says:

    I am going to try the chocolate Espresso tomorow morning! I never thought of adding a raw egg to smoothie but am looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

