The Biggest Primal Challenge for this Carb-aholic

Hi all,

So I’ve reached my one week milestone.   Woo.  Honestly, the thought of eating doritos, bagels or pasta kinda makes me sick at this point, so that is a good sign.  No more headaches or light-headedness also a bonus!  Though, this weekend I cheated a bit: one beer, a chicken gyro and a few handfuls of cereal: I blame my boyfriend who was in town visiting.  (And I always eat a limited amount of dairy…)

There are a few things that I have found very difficult on a daily basis.  And by a few, I mean one: drinking.  I just moved to NY, have a lot of friends to visit that I haven’t seen in ages, live with two single roommates, and I work at a law firm.  All of this equals a propensity to have a drink, (or two…) after work.  Personally, I don’t enjoy sipping on tequila and lime all the time, so my backup has been dry red wine.  From everything I’ve read, this seems to be the best option (other than not drinking)- but I would love to hear advice from you fellow primalmates.

A closely related problem is that when I come home after drinking, I don’t want to binge on fruit and veggies- I WANT PIZZA.  I bought some meatballs at 1am at a deli across the street the other night and it was a good substitute but just not the same.  I think the only thing that has saved me from totally deviating from this diet in those late-night, post-partying hours is the fact that I have no “naughty” food in the house.  (Just dark chocolate bars in my office desk…)

Any advice from those of you who also indulge in too many refreshments would be much appreciated!

A

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Biggest Primal Challenge for this Carb-aholic

  1. Mike B says:

    A,
    Congrats on making it 1 week!
    It gets easier as you go, watch your cheats….especially only one week in.
    If possible cut the alcohol out completely, 30 days is hard in the beginning but it gets easier as you go. If you can’t try googling “Paleo Alcohol” there are quite a few articles on the subject.
    Also Mark Sisson and Robb Wolf have both covered the topic as well.

    For me, I still have a vodka tonic or two or three when I travel or have to do dinner for business. It damages sleep quality for me though and I will pay for it, especially if it is close to bed time.
    One thing about vodka tonics is that your friendly bartender can keep sending plain tonic ( or soda if you prefer ) to you and no one will know.

    If you can, give your all to the challenge and then add back in one thing at a time, after you prove to yourself you will be successful at changing your lifestyle. This is a lifestyle and not just a fad diet :)
    For late night cravings keep a stash of bacon or jerky (watch the ingredients if you buy it) around, meat / protein and fat seem to help me late at night.
    Another favorite is eggs fried in coconut oil. That seem to work as well and they are fairly quick to make and available if you are out on a night on the town.

    Good luck on your next 3 weeks of the challenge.

    MB

  2. Tara says:

    Hello all,

    I, too, am two weeks into my Primal Challenge. I agree, there are certain things that I just no longer crave and somethings that I am now craving to my surprise (apples!?!?!?). Pizza is a toughy and the other night I made a “Meatza” from this recipe http://www.justinowings.com/meatza-meatza/
    It was great!! I can’t say I will never eat a regular pizza again… but when I do it will be a treat. For now, the Meatza is a good substitute.

    Good luck!

  3. chebridget says:

    I’m with you, about a week in. After a few drinks I always want to come home and binge, and pizza is my achilles heel! One thing I’ve noticed is that the urge to binge is less when I haven’t been drinking beer. Maybe because one bad decision leads to another, or maybe because of the consuming wheat makes you more hungry thing. But whatever the reason, after a few glasses of red wine, I usually feel like shopping rather than eating. My suggestion is that before you go out, decide what you will eat when you get home if you can’t fight the urge to binge. I did this the other night, and I had some butternut squash soup (Imagine or Pacific, in the organic foods aisle) ready to heat up when I got home. That worked for me because I love soup, so just find something you do love and plan to eat it for a late night snack before you go out!

  4. Drink options: Like you said, Red Wine probably the best, limit yourself to sipping on one glass (you could always ask the bartender for a club soda and squeeze of lime, not real food I know but it might just save ya from over doing it else where.) We also like to indulge here and there on a hard cider like Woodchuck, still looks like you are drinking a beer, and if you can get yourself dancing than the carbs shouldn’t be to big a deal, but you will save your gut from the gluten!! I find a little sugar is easier for my belly than gluten. Lesser of two evils?? LOL

    I also agree with the above comments about planning ahead and having handing Primal snacks available if you want them when you get home!! Or try distracting yourself by walking the longer way home, getting into a good book….or reading the millions of awesome Primal Blogs out there!! LOL

    Good Luck!

  5. scooberface says:

    Thanks for all the comments. I can’t wait to make a MEATZA! :)

  6. Here’s another Meatza recipe that my friend Batty makes, might be something you’d like to check out. :) http://www.batty.us/2010/08/meatza-reloaded/

  7. I think that what you posted made a ton of sense.
    However, what about this? suppose you were to write a killer title?

    I am not saying your content is not solid., but suppose you
    added a title that grabbed people’s attention? I mean The Biggest Primal Challenge for this Carb-aholic | The Primal Challenge is kinda vanilla. You should peek at Yahoo’s home
    page and see how they create post titles to get viewers to
    open the links. You might add a video or a related
    pic or two to grab readers interested about what you’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it could bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

Leave a Reply

