Tropical Tuna

Serves 2

You will need:

1/4 cup onion, finely chopped
1/4 cup radish (about 2) finely chopped
3/4 cup fresh pineapple finely chopped
1/2 cup mango finely chopped
1 lemon, 1 lime, 1 orange all cut into fourths

2 Wild caught yellowfin tuna steaks (thawed)

Place thawed tuna steaks in a bowl and add the fresh juice of 1/2 lemon, 1/2 lime and 1/2 orange. Marinate tuna while you chop.

Combine all chopped fruits and veggies in a small bowl. Add juice of 1/4 lemon, 1/4 lime and 1/4 orange to make a tropical salsa.

Garnish the plate with the remaining citrus, cutting the last fourths in half.

Grill Tuna steaks to your desired doneness (I like it seared and rare on the inside)

I served this with a steamed broccoli slaw (shredded broccoli, red cabbage and carrots lightly steamed and tossed with fresh dill and lemon) in place of the rice that I would usually serve and it was delicious!

The caveman eating this may have wrapped the tuna in a banana leaf and let it sit by the fire. More likely, he ate it raw. I intended to use the grill, but ran out of propane so I broiled the fish. Enjoy!

About chebridget

I love food! I love to cook, try new restaurants, read books about food, talk about food and throw dinner parties. I also enjoy jogging, hiking, camping and traveling. I work 9-5 in a cubicle, so it's important to me that I spend the rest of the day doing what I love, which is cooking, spending time outdoors with friends, and doing musical theatre in my community. Going primal is going to be a challenge for me due to my love of all things dessert, but I'm excited to see what new recipes I can come up with.
This entry was posted in Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tropical Tuna

  1. Bob Ewing says:

    This looks outstanding! Thanks so much for sharing. Antonie and I will definitely give it a try soon.

  2. geezerguy46 says:

    I can’t wait to try this dish!

  3. Scott Ewing says:

    Just had some bluefin tuna sashimi with dinner last night. Recipe looks tasty! Seared & rare on the inside is my preference too.

Leave a Reply

