Heal Your Gut

I’m a fan of Chris Kressler and his website, The Healthy Skeptic.  He has a series of posts called  ’9 Steps to Perfect Health’ that includes #5 – Heal Your Gut.  It’s crazy that “The human gut contains 100 Trillion microorganisms, 10 times more bacteria than all the human cells in the entire body, with over 400 known diverse bacterial species. In fact, you could say that we’re more bacterial than we are human. Think about that one for a minute.”

This post convinced me a few weeks back to try and include a naturally fermented food in my diet, so I picked up a jar of Kimchi from my supermarket for about $4.  I love the stuff!  It’s basically a fermented cabbage that’s a diet staple in Korea.  In fact, Koreans are so obsessed with the stuff that they shout “Kimchi!” while taking photos instead of “Cheese!”, and eat kimchi with virtually every meal.   Anyway, I stumbled across this recipe for making Kimchi at home, and will take a shot at making a batch this weekend after a visit to Super H Mart!

About Scott Ewing

Primal Blueprint enthusiast living in Chicago. Twitter: @scewing
This entry was posted in Food, Interesting article, the science behind it and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Heal Your Gut

  1. This picture made me laugh my ass off!!

    • Bob Ewing says:

      Agreed! And the post has inspired me to pick up some kimchi. Can you share a few pics of your kimchi and the meal?

  2. Pingback: Eggs Scrambled With Homemade Kimchi | The Primal Challenge

Leave a Reply

