Your Chair is Killing You!

Several articles have come out recently talking about the dangers of sitting.  This one (long, but read until the end!) talks about famous old dead people who have had a standing desk and concludes with the health benefits from not sitting and examples of standing desks.  This one is an infographic that I actually have posted up inside my standing desk.  After reading them I decided that I must stop killing myself from sitting too much!

About a month ago I “built” a standing desk by taking out some shelves in my bookshelf and putting my computer in it. Standing all day was hard at first. I would get tired and my shins would hurt. But I found that if I walked around, it was almost like a rest from standing. I would also find myself focusing on projects intensely for about 20 minutes then taking a break, instead of my usual pace of working (which is highly erratic and not focused at all).

I have now adjusted to standing while working. I think the key  is moving and not staying still.  So I like the discomfort that the standing gives me which forces me to walk around or (very occasionally and for a short time) sit down.

This entry was posted in Standing desk and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Your Chair is Killing You!

  1. Eva says:

    Very good post Antonie! I really like your new standing desk and even got used to it having it in our shared office and bump into you on my way out (Antonie and I are office mates and Antonie now blocks the door because she’s standing but that’s totally cool because I too love paleo life:). So good job with your standing and this very cool blog!

  2. Scott Ewing says:

    Amazing! Now I need to do the same

  3. The Real Food Mama says:

    My husband actually had his desk raised at work!! He is now starting a movement there…all the other engineers keep asking him why he did it!!! Too Cool!!

    • Bob Ewing says:

      Awesome! Does he have a picture of his standing desk? That would make for a fun post for us & we could promote your site as well.

  4. The Real Food Mama says:

    I am a Stay at Home Mom and find myself on my feet most of the day!! LOL

  5. geezerguy46 says:

    Good for you. I remember way back in the “olden days” I tried sitting on a large exercise ball instead of my office desk chair. I gave it up because of two reasons; 1) I was loosing too much work time from answering all the questions from my co-workers; 2) Someone kept stealing it and putting it in crazy places all around the building.

    • Bob Ewing says:

      Haha, I thought about getting an exercise ball at one point. How was it? I read that they help with some stabilizing muscles but still have most the problems that chairs do. When they stole your chair, did they take your lunch money too?

  6. Pingback: Standing desk | The Primal Challenge

  7. Pingback: Furniture Disease

  8. Pingback: Wedding Prep | The Primal Challenge

  9. We are a gaggle of volunteers and opening a new scheme in
    our community. Your site provided us with useful
    info to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our entire community will be grateful to you.

  10. gear camp says:

    Assorted candies such as candy corn, or m&ms (optional).
    The halftime show is a huge production, in which fans in the stadium often play a part,
    and which rivals a concert at just about any other venue.
    Put this within your Stanley Thermos, pop the lid on and shake dramatically.

  11. Do you see and feel the “distinctive atmosphere and luminous radiations” of what we did back then.

    A bone scan report dated 28 August 2006, confirmed “no evidence of MDP avid skeletal metastasis. WHAT TO DO -to spend a lot of money but to do things right.

  12. hydroponics activities kids

  13. Best of all, it features a sensitive flexing
    head designed to bend to the contours of your face, resulting in a comfortable, close
    shave. If many people would be using the new automatic teeth-brushing device, then the batteries might
    require extra charging in the course of the month.
    Long life rechargeable batteries – A properly charged battery
    can serve for a whole month without requiring further charging.

  14. Roscoe says:

    The REIF has been set aside for Photovoltaic Cells
    Cost projects this year which the bank said would mostly be spent in Scotland.
    We’re trying to limit that volatility as well and might look at needing to shutdown. And the second question is on feedstock. But I think that will support our ability to lock in margins actually in kind of beginning in ’13.
    8 billion bushels or so, more towards the spot market.

  15. Winfred says:

    Nuclear powered Giant solar arrays and other Solar Neutrino Problems.
    This year, in the combination of both. I had hi, how are you doing?
    Talk about an economic boon to the environment and the economy while investing
    in our solar neutrino problems future.

  16. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your site?

    My blog is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Cheers!

  17. Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your weblog.
    You have some really good posts and I believe I
    would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some articles
    for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please send me an e-mail if interested. Regards!

  18. Karla says:

    Remember, cedar and most untreated wood works well.

    Refer to home magazines and television programs that are featuring latest home designs.
    The best solution for you is to opt for a permanent portable system.

  19. I’m very happy to uncover this website. I wanted to thank you for your
    time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every
    part of it and i also have you saved to fav to look at new things
    on your website.

  20. car bueaer says:

    Have you ever wondered I would like to sell my car?

    There are lots of options, so it may be overwhelimg unless you are shown who you can trust.

  21. auto sellers says:

    Am I able to register for your articles??

  22. Exciting reading. Fantastic points, well made.
    In my opinion , your are just right there.

  23. Incredible blogpost. What are the sources??
    Always find it somewhat hard to start out.

Leave a Reply

